Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Thermal bypass

12K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  Jhenderson 
#1 ·
Has anyone tried the ats thermal bypass? I haul Rvs for a living and have been looking for ways to take care of my tranny. This is my first ram and it dont have the aisin so I'm kinda worried about it. Havent heard great things about the 68rfe so I thought I'd ask around and get some ideas.

#5 ·
From what I've read it isnt that the factory valve goes bad its that it keeps fluid from circulating to the trans cooler until it reaches a certain temp and the thermal bypass lets it constantly circulate. What im unsure about is wether it's worth it or if it even matters

#11 ·
#7 ·
I wouldn’t overthink it. Plenty of high mileage guys on here with an un-modified 68. Leave the power stock and haul away. It’s designed to operate up to the tow rating on a consistent basis.

The vast vast majority of owners never have an issue with their transmissions.

Now start modding things and all bets are off, you may last forever you may not—especially if you add power through tuning.

#9 ·
Bought the rev max one. Get the ats one, i think it is made better but the temps on my trans have dropped 10-20 degrees. Much cooler while towing my TT at 70.

Sent from my Nokia 7.1 using Tapatalk

#12 ·
The rev max was a pain to install because the end where the threaded lines from the trans attach are not quite right. They are offset where the original has them even with each other. The ats looks to more parallel the stock unit. Because of the lines, it took forever with me under the truck and a broken jack. The fittings need stubby wrenches to loosen and tighten because of the space. And i lost about 3 qts of fluid during the process. Should have put the truck on ramps but you live and learn.

Would have been a normal 1 beer job except for the way the lines fit.

Reactions: 2500/6
#13 ·