2019 adding Auxiliary Switches - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
 21Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-27-2019, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
US ARMY Retired
 
Cummins0867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA Native, currently in New England
Posts: 693
Thanks: 615
Thanked 85 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
2019 adding Auxiliary Switches

I'm very interested in adding Auxiliary Switches to my 2019 Ram 3500. Has anyone done it to a 2019? If so what all does it entail? How difficult is it?


'19 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4, Aisin 3:73's
SOLD: '17 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3.42's
SOLD: '11 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4 3:73's
SOLD: '08 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3:73's "2Timothy1:7"
Cummins0867 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 04:03 AM
Newbie
 
Procharged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Subscribed

Hopefully @Jimmy07 will chime in
Procharged392 is offline  
post #3 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 09:41 AM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,616
Thanks: 11
Thanked 235 Times in 212 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Need to know how populated the AUX fuse box is. Does both your guysí AUX fuse box only have three relays and three fuses installed in it, or are they fully loaded?
Jimmy07 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Jimmy07 For This Useful Post:
Cummins0867 (12-29-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
US ARMY Retired
 
Cummins0867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA Native, currently in New England
Posts: 693
Thanks: 615
Thanked 85 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy07 View Post
Need to know how populated the AUX fuse box is. Does both your guys’ AUX fuse box only have three relays and three fuses installed in it, or are they fully loaded?
I have 3 Relays and 3 Fuses....see pic. Thank you.

These are the switches I have on my dash.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail_IMG_4626.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	253.8 KB
ID:	863967   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3947.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	280.8 KB
ID:	863971  

'19 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4, Aisin 3:73's
SOLD: '17 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3.42's
SOLD: '11 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4 3:73's
SOLD: '08 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3:73's "2Timothy1:7"

Last edited by Cummins0867; 12-29-2019 at 02:53 PM. Reason: add switches photo
Cummins0867 is offline  
post #5 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
Procharged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 35
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yep, same here. 3 relays and 3 fuses...
Procharged392 is offline  
post #6 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 12:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Those fuses and relays are on all Cummins and are not for Aux switches. Those power the 3 in-duct heating elements that heat the cab before the engine is to temp. I do not know what a truck with factory Aux switches uses for fuses/relays.
Dethloff is offline  
post #7 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 04:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I would also like to know if it would be simple to add. I have my doubts since the aux switches are configured by the gauge cluster.

As for the relays, I donít think the aux switches uses any as the outputs are triggers. You canít power any loads with them, you need to install a relay to control whatever load you want to use. (Correct me if Iím wrong).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Fierodough is offline  
post #8 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 08:24 AM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,616
Thanks: 11
Thanked 235 Times in 212 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dethloff View Post
Those fuses and relays are on all Cummins and are not for Aux switches. Those power the 3 in-duct heating elements that heat the cab before the engine is to temp. I do not know what a truck with factory Aux switches uses for fuses/relays.
Weíre well aware of that. Thatís why I wanted to know if thatís all that was in their boxes, or if they were loaded out with the rest of the relays and fuses. Knowing that they are not makes it that much more of a pain populating everything for the switches.
Jimmy07 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jimmy07 For This Useful Post:
Cummins0867 (12-30-2019), Procharged392 (12-30-2019)
post #9 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 11:06 AM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,616
Thanks: 11
Thanked 235 Times in 212 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The switch bank and the programming are the easy part. Easiest way the get the part number for the switch bank is to search auto trader for a truck that has the aux switches and the same upper row of switches you have, get the VIN of that truck, and message Benny at allmoparparts and ask him for the part number of the switch bank in that truck. This is the VIN of a truck with the switch bank @Cummins0867 would need- 3C63R3SL4KG620237. AlfaOBD can do the programming for the switches. The hard part is the exploratory/discovery work needed to find out what wiring is missing. First thing we need to know is if the connector for the aux switches portion of the switch bank is present behind the center stack-
The easiest way to do this without removing the center stack with radio is to see if the aux control wires from that connector are present in the next connector down the line. You’ll be looking for this 59 way connector somewhere in the area above the brake/parking brake pedal, or behind the side kick panel-
Looking to see if the marked wires for the aux relay controls are in those positions on that half of the connector.
Next, in the AUX Fuse box, none of the output sides of the m-case fuse terminals are present, but I can’t tell if any of the terminals are even present for the relays that need to be installed.
Cummins0867 likes this.
Jimmy07 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jimmy07 For This Useful Post:
Cummins0867 (12-30-2019), Procharged392 (12-30-2019)
post #10 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 01:51 PM
Cummins Fanatic
 
2Good4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 135
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I can confirm that my 19 tradesman without upfitters does have the necessary wiring behind the center stack in the light gray plug.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FA92D109-4592-4659-AE13-0292D19513E7_1577728272548.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	410.8 KB
ID:	864043  

2019 2500 6.7 CC Tradesman White 68RFE 4x4
Upgrades - None Yet
2Good4U is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 2Good4U For This Useful Post:
Procharged392 (12-30-2019)
post #11 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 02:00 PM Thread Starter
US ARMY Retired
 
Cummins0867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA Native, currently in New England
Posts: 693
Thanks: 615
Thanked 85 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I cant do much today as its snowing, raining and sleeting here in New England. The terminals are in the Aux fuse box for the fuses but the terminals aren't there for the relays. I'm not sure about the wiring underneath the Aux fuse box. Under the dash with the black terminal XY125A the main coating around the bulk of wires is marked with yellow tape. I have been told that "yellow tape" is the marking for airbags. Before I unplug and inspect I'll have to disconnect the battery's so I don't deploy the airbags (too snowy today). It does look like terminal 40 on that connector going in does have a "brown wire" into terminal 40. 40 is supposed to be Brown and Gray. I didn't have very good light I know its brown but I didn't see gray. I have to wait for better weather.

'19 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4, Aisin 3:73's
SOLD: '17 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3.42's
SOLD: '11 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4 3:73's
SOLD: '08 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3:73's "2Timothy1:7"
Cummins0867 is offline  
post #12 of 70 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
US ARMY Retired
 
Cummins0867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA Native, currently in New England
Posts: 693
Thanks: 615
Thanked 85 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
@2Good4U do you already have the factory Auxiliary switches? You can have the Auxiliary switches without the Upfitter. As the Auxiliary and Upfitter are two different options from the factory.


What side of the truck did you take the pic from?

'19 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4, Aisin 3:73's
SOLD: '17 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3.42's
SOLD: '11 Laramie 3500 CCSW SRW 4X4 3:73's
SOLD: '08 Laramie 2500 CCSW 4X4 3:73's "2Timothy1:7"
Cummins0867 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome