some insight for a newbie - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
2013-2018 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 2013 model year differences 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING -

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 03-17-2020, 09:15 AM Thread Starter

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
some insight for a newbie

Hi guys, I have to start off by saying that I'm happy to be part of the cummins family. I have been driving 6 wheel dump trucks(Ford F650) diesels at my work now for almost 8 yrs. so I have some experience around diesels. I recently purchased my first personal diesel, a 2014 cummins, short bed , with only 25,700 miles. The truck looks brand new inside and I don't think the previous owner ever towed anything or even hauled anything in the back. The bed is spotless, not a scratch in it. The previous owner was a gentleman in his 70's and he bought it new. I actually met the guy. He had traded it in on a new eco-diesel 1500, he told me the 2500 was too big for him now. I viewed the carfax report and the truck was serviced at regular intervals and nothing jumped out at me. I thought I would be good for awhile in regards to service except at the recommended times. After driving the truck for a day, with the same tank of gas that was in when I bought it, I kept on getting a water in diesel light code. I would drain the filters and it would go away. After the third time, I contacted the dealer and they brought it it. They ended up replacing both filter sensor units and it has been working great. About 100 miles later, my check engine light came on and it didn't run quite right. I took it to the dealer again and 3 codes came up involving the turbo. One code was stored , 2 were current. They ended up replacing the turbo. It was covered under the warranty. My question being new is "what the heck is going on". I live in the country, drive about 28 miles to work one way and I drive normal. When I say normal, I mean I don't baby it but