Backup camera icon - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
2013-2018 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 2013 model year differences 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING - Sponsored by: StarLite Diesel

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-15-2019, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Backup camera icon

I've seen on other trucks that you can turn the view of the backup camera while the truck isn't in reverse and I've noticed mine doesn't have that. Im wanting to figure out how to get that icon on my controls page

DWJM2513 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to DWJM2513 For This Useful Post:
kevinc2004 (11-28-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 09:23 AM
Cummins Enthusiast
 
IchLiebeBier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Virginia
Posts: 269
Thanks: 88
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
When you hit the uconnect apps button, all the icons will come up. there is a second screen you can access by hitting the right arrow. you can drag the icons down to the "task bar" area, or whatever it's called.

Are you saying the icon is not showing up on either screen?

'18 Granite Laramie 2500 CC 4X4 CTD / Air Susp / Anti Spin / Wheel-to-Wheel Sidesteps / Husky Guards / Dee Zee Assist / Gator FX /AVS Aeroskin II / I-P Switches
IchLiebeBier is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by IchLiebeBier View Post
When you hit the uconnect apps button, all the icons will come up. there is a second screen you can access by hitting the right arrow. you can drag the icons down to the "task bar" area, or whatever it's called.



Are you saying the icon is not showing up on either screen?
Yeah that's correct. It's no where to be found
DWJM2513 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Pensacola FL
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It was a software change at some point, my '17 has it, '14 didn't
NWFL3500 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWFL3500 View Post
It was a software change at some point, my '17 has it, '14 didn't
I may get ahold of the stealership and see what they know about it
DWJM2513 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 01:09 PM
Buyer of stuff..with OPM
 
Ram4Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 2,288
Thanks: 113
Thanked 490 Times in 342 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWJM2513 View Post
I may get ahold of the stealership and see what they know about it
That won't be a good use of you time.........this feature showed up in 2016 trucks.

Sam

2016 3500 Laramie SRW 4x4 CC LB ,Aisin,white w/brn-beige,B&W TOB/companion built 9/2015
Owned and gone, 1991 d250... 2001.5 2500qc...2014 3500 FCA buyback
Drivin' a Dodge Cummins since 1991.......
2008 Thor jazz 2870UK 5er....and 3 dogs.....
Ram4Sam is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Ram4Sam For This Useful Post:
DWJM2513 (11-17-2019)
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram4Sam View Post
That won't be a good use of you time.........this feature showed up in 2016 trucks.



Sam
Any way to use that alpha obd app to get it on my screen or am I just stuck with it how it is?
DWJM2513 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 02:14 PM
Buyer of stuff..with OPM
 
Ram4Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 2,288
Thanks: 113
Thanked 490 Times in 342 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWJM2513 View Post
Any way to use that alpha obd app to get it on my screen or am I just stuck with it how it is?
Never used Alpha but Customtronixs(spelling?) might have something.....

Sam

2016 3500 Laramie SRW 4x4 CC LB ,Aisin,white w/brn-beige,B&W TOB/companion built 9/2015
Owned and gone, 1991 d250... 2001.5 2500qc...2014 3500 FCA buyback
Drivin' a Dodge Cummins since 1991.......
2008 Thor jazz 2870UK 5er....and 3 dogs.....
Ram4Sam is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 02:26 PM
Diesel Head
 
dillonjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 2,655
Thanks: 69
Thanked 342 Times in 280 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
If it wasnít coded into your truck as an option from the factory, ALFA OBD canít do anything for you. It doesnít write new code.


19 2500 Longhorn Mega 4x4

11 SRT8 Challenger M6 - Corsa; 295 Nittos

dillonjm is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram4Sam View Post
Never used Alpha but Customtronixs(spelling?) might have something.....



Sam
I mean, from what I've watched on YouTube, you can change almost anything you want on the truck with that alpha obd as long as you have the right device to plug into the truck so why couldn't someone get into the radio system with it and make it to where you can add that control? By the way I love your profile animation!
DWJM2513 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dillonjm View Post
If it wasnít coded into your truck as an option from the factory, ALFA OBD canít do anything for you. It doesnít write new code.
Then how do these guys that get the tradesman trucks, put a backup cam and cargo cams into them and have them programed to work? I know the person selling them sends the programming with the kit but how do they get that programming to set it up?
DWJM2513 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 03:00 PM
Diesel Head
 
dillonjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 2,655
Thanks: 69
Thanked 342 Times in 280 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWJM2513 View Post
Then how do these guys that get the tradesman trucks, put a backup cam and cargo cams into them and have them programed to work? I know the person selling them sends the programming with the kit but how do they get that programming to set it up?
The code exists in the BCM since it was an option from the factory. Youíre merely changing a 0 to a 1 telling the truck that the option is present. It doesnít create new options that Ram didnít offer that year.

For example. It canít give you 2019 options on a 2013. But it can enable 2013 Laramie options on a 2013 tradesman.

The radio thing is a little unique in that some of the radio functions exist internally. Some it pulls from the truck. Ex: CarPlay and adding an 18 radio into a 13 to get it.


19 2500 Longhorn Mega 4x4

11 SRT8 Challenger M6 - Corsa; 295 Nittos

dillonjm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome