Aftermarket Radio in 2016 Laramie - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
2013-2018 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 2013 model year differences 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING - Sponsored by: StarLite Diesel

 8Likes
  • 2 Post By Ltngdrvr
  • 1 Post By dillonjm
  • 2 Post By azjohnnyo
  • 2 Post By Ltngdrvr
  • 1 Post By 2012Ram6.7
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
2012Ram6.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 971
Thanks: 176
Thanked 195 Times in 139 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Aftermarket Radio in 2016 Laramie

Anyone installed an aftermarket radio in their Laramie? I want Apple CarPlay, and I donít want to spend over a thousand dollars on the kit from Infotainment.

I installed a Kenwood radio in a 2018 Silverado using idatalink maestro interface last year. It worked well for that truck, but it didnít have the options that my Laramie has.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2012Ram6.7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 08:19 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 9
Thanked 181 Times in 166 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes. The maestro with any radio compatible with it will keep every single factory setting that you already have.
Jimmy07 is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 08:23 PM
Diesel Head
 
Ltngdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southeast TX
Posts: 12,606
Thanks: 18
Thanked 2,180 Times in 1,622 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy07 View Post
Yes. The maestro with any radio compatible with it will keep every single factory setting that you already have.
Plus some that it doesn't already have!
azjohnnyo and Jimmy07 like this.

2015 RAM 2500 LoneStar Mega Cab CTD 2WD Air Ride PRAIRIE PEARLCOAT 02/09/2015
CCV reset/seatbelt chime disable https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/2...tml?highlight=
Ltngdrvr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 08:24 PM
Diesel Freak
 
azjohnnyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 605
Thanks: 168
Thanked 100 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy07 View Post
Yes. The maestro with any radio compatible with it will keep every single factory setting that you already have.


Is there a list of compatible radios somewhere? I guess I should go check the Maestro site?


AZJohnnyO
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

2015 2500 4X4 CC Laramie in Black Forest Green 6.7 w/68RFE. N-Fab step bars, BakFlip HD Tonneau cover.
"What if the HOKEY POKEY "IS" what it's all about?"
"An honest government has no fear of an armed population".
azjohnnyo is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 09:00 PM
Diesel Freak
 
azjohnnyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 605
Thanks: 168
Thanked 100 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltngdrvr View Post
Plus some that it doesn't already have!


Any recommendation that wonít break the bank with CarPlay?


AZJohnnyO
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

2015 2500 4X4 CC Laramie in Black Forest Green 6.7 w/68RFE. N-Fab step bars, BakFlip HD Tonneau cover.
"What if the HOKEY POKEY "IS" what it's all about?"
"An honest government has no fear of an armed population".
azjohnnyo is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 09:03 PM
Diesel Head
 
dillonjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 2,607
Thanks: 69
Thanked 336 Times in 276 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
You can also swap in a newer 18 radio to get CarPlay, I believe. Not cheap though.
azjohnnyo likes this.


19 2500 Longhorn Mega 4x4

11 SRT8 Challenger M6 - Corsa; 295 Nittos

dillonjm is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 09:05 PM
Diesel Freak
 
azjohnnyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 605
Thanks: 168
Thanked 100 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dillonjm View Post
You can also swap in a newer 18 radio to get CarPlay, I believe. Not cheap though.


Yes, Ď18 and newer have that and that really is the way to go but like the OP, I REALLY donít want to spend over $1K to upgrade.


AZJohnnyO
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
dillonjm and 2012Ram6.7 like this.

2015 2500 4X4 CC Laramie in Black Forest Green 6.7 w/68RFE. N-Fab step bars, BakFlip HD Tonneau cover.
"What if the HOKEY POKEY "IS" what it's all about?"
"An honest government has no fear of an armed population".
azjohnnyo is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 09:08 PM
Diesel Head
 
Ltngdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southeast TX
Posts: 12,606
Thanks: 18
Thanked 2,180 Times in 1,622 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by azjohnnyo View Post
Is there a list of compatible radios somewhere? I guess I should go check the Maestro site?
Quote:
Originally Posted by azjohnnyo View Post
Any recommendation that wonít break the bank with CarPlay?
Yes, the iDatalink maestro application page shows all the compatible radios.

I'm not up on all the available carplay compatible radios.
dillonjm and azjohnnyo like this.

2015 RAM 2500 LoneStar Mega Cab CTD 2WD Air Ride PRAIRIE PEARLCOAT 02/09/2015
CCV reset/seatbelt chime disable https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/2...tml?highlight=
Ltngdrvr is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2019, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
2012Ram6.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 971
Thanks: 176
Thanked 195 Times in 139 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by azjohnnyo View Post
Any recommendation that wonít break the bank with CarPlay?


AZJohnnyO
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


The Kenwood head unit I installed last year for my uncle works very well. I used a maestro interface which was super easy to program. His truck was a base model work truck though. It does pull trouble codes, display tons of engine parameters and show the climate controls as well.

I just didnít know if anyone had done one on a Laramie yet. I donít want to drop like $1,600.00 on the oem unit from Infotainment.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
azjohnnyo likes this.
2012Ram6.7 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-22-2019, 11:19 AM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,686
Thanks: 134
Thanked 139 Times in 126 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
For sure Infotainment is very, very proud of their radio's. I bought my 8.4 replacement from them 3 years ago before their prices went through the roof.

2016 3500 SRW, 6.7, Crew Cab, Long Bed, SLT trim
5th Wheel Tow Pkg, Factory Rear Air Suspension
Delmonico Red
Minnow101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome