Alfa OBD Success! - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
2013-2018 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 2013 model year differences 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING - Sponsored by: StarLite Diesel

 191Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GTO Brody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 34
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Alfa OBD Success!

Finally got around to installing AlfaOBD and picked up an OBDLink SX USB Cable. So far I'm thrilled with the capability here!

-Reset TPMS Thresholds
-Activated DRLs in Signals
-Activated Global Down (Global Up not working yet)
-Activated LED Bulbs on all corners

67guzzler, Xokia and frankss like this.

2017 Ram 2500 CC/SB Cummins 4x4 Tradesman
2005 Pontiac GTO 6.0/6MT
1992 Chevy S-10 EC/SB 2.8/5MT
GTO Brody is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 02:50 PM
Diesel Head
 
67guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 9,547
Thanks: 3,114
Thanked 3,735 Times in 2,422 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
NICE! So far I have:

  1. Enabled LED for license plate bulbs (can see via backup cam photo sensor they're not cycling anymore)
  2. Enabled LED for fog lights bulbs (can see via phone photo sensor they're not cycling anymore)
  3. Enabled DRL and set to USE LED turn signals (have factory projectors -- very bright). Played with FOGS as DRL but went with turn signal LED's as DRL's because I can run park lights (DRL's stay on) to fire up the LED fogs and and have the best of both worlds...
  4. Set my tire thresholds to 35 PSI (down from 80 / 60 from the factory on my 2017 2500) as I like to run around 45 PSI
  5. Disabled FOG LIGHT DROPOFF so they stay on with high beams
  6. Enabled Global Down. Global up doesn't seem to work but I read that with https://zautomotive.com/product/tazer-ram/ aka "Tazer" plugged into OBD II 24/7 you can have the equivalent. I'm not so interested in that.

I was asked by a friend if this was possible: Set it so backup lights will illuminate upon unlocking the doors

I didn't see anything I could change for this. Asked on ramforum and was told it might not be an option.

Still searching for more things to tweak. This is quite awesome.

-Guzzler

PS: I'm using this (ANDROID and WINDOWS ONLY) for my OBD II Bluetooth Adapter and it works great: https://smile.amazon.com/Vgate-Scann.../dp/B075R62FTH
-lenny- likes this.

2017 2500 Crew 4x4 Laramie 6.4L HEMI 66RFE w/4.10

PRIOR: 1994, 1996, 2004, 2005.5, 2010 and 2013 2500's. ALL Cummins.

If someone is nice enough to post a truck-related pic,
I'm more than happy to click a "Like or Thanks."

Last edited by 67guzzler; 01-21-2019 at 08:36 PM.
67guzzler is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 67guzzler For This Useful Post:
2500/6 (01-18-2019)
post #3 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 02:59 PM
Cummins Fanatic
 
frankss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 109
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Can you just download the SW and use a cable from HPT or EFI live to connect to PC or do you have to get a specific OBD2 cable?

2016 PW Longhorn Mega- Deleted, 4" with muffler, Stage 3 ATS 68RFE, upgraded headlights, Thuren Overland Extreme suspension, 35" Toyo OC MT's
frankss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 03:04 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,994
Thanks: 35
Thanked 240 Times in 181 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankss View Post
Can you just download the SW and use a cable from HPT or EFI live to connect to PC or do you have to get a specific OBD2 cable?
The answer is maybe. If whatever cable you have is based on ELM 327 then it has the potential to work if the alphaOBD software can access it.

The general recommendation is to just buy a obdLink device. http://www.obdlink.com/
I run the obdLink MX+ Bluetooth
usmc42 likes this.
Xokia is offline  
post #5 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 04:26 PM
Diesel Head
 
hillbilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 11
Thanked 164 Times in 157 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What is Global up and down? I really need to get back into the Ram forum.

OBDlink LX is a good reader and works well with Alfa, I just upgraded to the MX+, hopefully ill get to play with it in the next few weeks.

2011 CC non-HO
2014/2015 Ecodiesel GDE Tuned--Sold & 2007 5.9 MEGAcab w/Edge Evolution--Sold
USAF
hillbilli is offline  
post #6 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 04:46 PM
Cummins Nut
 
mjf6175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edison NJ
Posts: 472
Thanks: 83
Thanked 111 Times in 80 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO Brody View Post
Finally got around to installing AlfaOBD and picked up an OBDLink SX USB Cable. So far I'm thrilled with the capability here!

-Reset TPMS Thresholds
-Activated DRLs in Signals
-Activated Global Down (Global Up not working yet)
-Activated LED Bulbs on all corners
Global UP does not work.........only Global Down

04.5 RegCab; NV5600; SmartyJR; Dynalocs; Detroit TrueTrac front diff.; 3.73 AntiSpin rear; AFE Stg2; Bank High Ram; MBRP duals; H2wheels; Toyo 295x70's; 09 upgrade steering; Thuren S-Stabilizer; HD control Arms; Bilstein 5100's; IPD Rear Sway Bar; Timbrens; 62/65/13ss
mjf6175 is offline  
post #7 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 05:00 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,994
Thanks: 35
Thanked 240 Times in 181 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillbilli View Post
What is Global up and down?
Hold the unlock button on your remote and the front windows roll down. Useful for those that do not have remote start. Otherwise you could just remote start your vehicle and accomplish better results.
Xokia is offline  
post #8 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 05:04 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: New smyrna Beach, Fl
Posts: 1,599
Thanks: 9
Thanked 121 Times in 105 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Can you make the cab lights come on when you unlock the truck like the running lights do. That would be real nice.
DarylB and troverman like this.

2015 2500 4x4 megacab automatic with ARE Z series topper
cjgoode is offline  
post #9 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 05:10 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,481
Thanks: 8
Thanked 132 Times in 116 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjgoode View Post
Can you make the cab lights come on when you unlock the truck like the running lights do. That would be real nice.
No, unfortunately that is not an option you can enable with Alfa. The issue is the flashing when you hit the unlock button is the turn signals, not the running/marker lights so it's a different circuit all together and no option to switch it.


.

2016 Ram 2500 Big Horn Mega cab, 285/75-18 (35's) Nitto Ridge Grapplers. Fuel Hostage III 18x9 +18 BS Wheels. Bilstein 2.3″ Front Lift, 1" rear spacer.
mtnrider is offline  
post #10 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 05:43 PM
Diesel Head
 
hillbilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 11
Thanked 164 Times in 157 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xokia View Post
Hold the unlock button on your remote and the front windows roll down. Useful for those that do not have remote start. Otherwise you could just remote start your vehicle and accomplish better results.
Ahh... thats what i was thinking it might be, but wasnt for sure. That would be a nice feature on those hot days.

2011 CC non-HO
2014/2015 Ecodiesel GDE Tuned--Sold & 2007 5.9 MEGAcab w/Edge Evolution--Sold
USAF
hillbilli is offline  
post #11 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 05:51 PM
Diesel Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Wake County, NC
Posts: 515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Nice work boys - I have the security harness for my 2018 on order, will pick up the OBDLink MX, I already have a Tab A tablet so I'm almost ready to go -

Just want to enable LED fog lamps and turn off the bulb checks in the rear as I'm converting to Mopar LED tails (I have the conversion harness so no errors but still want to do it right in AlfaOBD) and it will enable me on the fogs to install the Morimoto XB LED housings without extra resistors and splitters -

Also worth the price of admission is disabling the fog lamp cutoff with the high beams, and ability to enable HID/xenon for low beams, thus saving us from running another 2 pairs of resistors -

2018 2500 Big Horn - 6.7L 68RFE - CC 6'4" - SPORT
Ricky_Bobby is online now  
post #12 of 624 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 06:19 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bend
Posts: 1,814
Thanks: 249
Thanked 150 Times in 126 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
what are the best lights to use for DRLs? Which ones are used from the factory?
I have the projector lights and do not want to burn them up

and what is the best platform to use for this program? I have a tablet and computer I can use


thanks

'18 3500 Mega Aisin, Carli suspended
í13 3500 CCLB Aisin, Carli suspended
'11 2500 Mega, Carli suspended
kylant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome