Randomly loosing GPS..Nav - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
2013-2018 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 2013 model year differences 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING - Sponsored by: StarLite Diesel

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 278
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Randomly loosing GPS..Nav

My GPS just randomly goes out. As in no signal. Zero on the GPS bars. Map rotates and follows the truck but of course it's direction/location is wrong. Map is in the area unless i drive far enough that it is going the opposite way. This issue happened months ago and mostly did not happen for awhile but it's back all day today.

I can't make heads nor tails or it. Can't take it into the dealer, it'll work tomorrow and for who knows how long.

Anyone else have this issue?

Speedo is always correct.


2014 Ram 2500 CC Laramie
shorels1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:02 PM
Diesel Head
 
Ltngdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southeast TX
Posts: 12,507
Thanks: 18
Thanked 2,167 Times in 1,609 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Why wouldn't the speedometer be correct? It has nothing to do with the gps.

As to the nav randomly not getting a sat signal, could be mechanical like a bad antenna connection or it could be a software issue.

2015 RAM 2500 LoneStar Mega Cab CTD 2WD Air Ride PRAIRIE PEARLCOAT 02/09/2015
CCV reset/seatbelt chime disable https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/2...tml?highlight=
Ltngdrvr is online now  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:59 PM
ATC
Diesel Head
 
ATC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SW VA
Posts: 2,471
Thanks: 86
Thanked 243 Times in 210 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Maybe he's talking about the speedo on the GPS?

2018 Ford F350 XLT SCLB 4x4
2016 3500 RCLB Tradesman 4x4 DRW G56 -sold-
2006 3500 QCSB SLT 4x2 SRW G56 -sold-
ATC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 01:52 AM
Diesel Head
 
DDRamFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: WA
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 187
Thanked 367 Times in 333 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATC View Post
Maybe he's talking about the speedo on the GPS?
That's what I assume.
However, the Nav unit would still need a signal to display the speed, as it's computing speed by time to distance.

2012 Ram 2500 Laramie CCLB 6.7,4x4, Fully Deleted, BD Air Horn, EFI Live w/ Trans Tune, AFE DFS780 Lift Pump, Injen Evo CAI, Riding on 37x12.50 Ridge Grapplers on Black Rhino 20"Sierra's, Thuren 3" Coils, Rear Shackles, Fox 2.0 Reservoir Shocks, HC Control Arms, Track Bar, King Steering Stabilizer and Torsion Sway Bar. Steering Box Brace, SnugTop,Amsoil Bypass Filter & Oil, RetroShop FXR Projectors w/ HID's, Morimoto LED Fog's, Back Seat Fold Down Hack. Titan 60 Gal Mid-Ship Tank.
DDRamFan is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 278
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltngdrvr View Post
Why wouldn't the speedometer be correct? It has nothing to do with the gps.

As to the nav randomly not getting a sat signal, could be mechanical like a bad antenna connection or it could be a software issue.
I'm thinking there are two connections for the antenna, the rear wall which would suck to dig into and behind the headunit?

still not working this morning.

2014 Ram 2500 CC Laramie
shorels1 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 278
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I was assuming the speedo was gps derived

2014 Ram 2500 CC Laramie
shorels1 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 09:42 AM
Diesel Head
 
Ltngdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southeast TX
Posts: 12,507
Thanks: 18
Thanked 2,167 Times in 1,609 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorels1 View Post
I'm thinking there are two connections for the antenna, the rear wall which would suck to dig into and behind the headunit?

still not working this morning.
I believe that the cable for the antenna runs down the A pillar then down behind the dash to the head unit. I doubt the connection issue, if that's what is wrong, would be at the antenna end, so I would first check the connection on the back of the head unit.

If it's a software/firmware issue, that would be a tough one to diagnose on your own. Probably would have to pull the head unit and have it checked out by one of the companies that refurbishes them.

2015 RAM 2500 LoneStar Mega Cab CTD 2WD Air Ride PRAIRIE PEARLCOAT 02/09/2015
CCV reset/seatbelt chime disable https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/2...tml?highlight=
Ltngdrvr is online now  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 278
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
This truck did not have factory NAV. It had the 8.4 but not the software. I bought the software from FCA and put in the code. That brings up a whole different can of worms.

I too think it's software related.....the thing that disappears also is the 911 service. Service something to 911 not available prompt. That pops up on the screen several minutes after the gps is lost.

I also have not done the uconnect thing to my phone or whatever provider. I want to say this issue pops up after I bluetooth connect my phone. I'm not positive but they both seem to be real close. I do not use my bluetooth connection hardly at all.

2014 Ram 2500 CC Laramie
shorels1 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-17-2017, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 278
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I've master reset the unit, no change.

The GPS has been out for a week now. No signal. It knows N S E W and rotates but the map is in Texas right now after a master reset. Called Chrysler, they said take it in.

I pulled the head unit, checked the Ant/GPS and all that, all tight. Pulled the GPS lead and put another GPS antenna in and no change.

Looks like dealer time.

I did notice, that whenever the GPS is working, the Uconnect 3G is lit up. This has always corresponded with the GPS working. It was semi working the day I got the truck. I have not had that portion of service. I did in fact start to play with the uconnect one day when it was lit up in my driveway. This was about when or when the GPS signal loses started. I'm not sure how to proceed with finalizing that procedure of it it's necessary.

2014 Ram 2500 CC Laramie
shorels1 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2017, 10:47 PM
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crosby, Tx.
Posts: 109
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I don't know if this is the same problem, but in the first year that I had mine,occasionally on startup the whole 8.4 screen would be blank. After t he truck warmed up it would usually come back on at startup. I took it in several times and they reflashed it, but it still kept doing it, finally they sent me a thumbdrive which I loaded myself and this cured it. One time the map froze like your talking about, but once I downloaded the thumbdrive I have never had another problem. Hope this helps.

2014, 3500 DRW, 4x4, Aisen,3.73, black crewcab
saltwater man is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Has anyone found the fix? Ive searched many sights and no one ever states what the fix is...maybe there isnt one??? Just bought a 2014 Ram and GPS worked a couple times then I get no signal and I'm not even close to where I am.
gusmacdaddy is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Have you had any developments in this problem?
Many of us have the the same problem. I'm determined to figure it out. I have been testing components in a stepwise method; I've replaced the sharkfin antenna, bypassed the factory wiring; installed an aftermarket GPS antenna, and everything keeps pointing back to the headunit. I admit I'm puzzled. I'm working with a company call Infotainment and they seem to think that there was an OTA update that's causing the problem. I have a new headunit enroute to me now. I'll let you know how it works out.

Paul
PWagon13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome