08 Cummins 6.7 goes into limp mode "Service required" "See dealer now" - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
07.5 - 09 3rd Gen 6.7L Performance Parts Discussion Discussion of Performance Parts For the 6.7L Trucks...NO ADVERTISING

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By xcc_rider
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
08 Cummins 6.7 goes into limp mode "Service required" "See dealer now"

I've been reading threads of other people with a problem similar to mine but I still haven't solved it.
I have a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500 Dually with the Cummins 6.7 engine. I have DPF delete, EGR delete, throttle vale cable disconnected. I'm using a Raceme Jun (I've tried already reuploading software, and different tunes from the Raceme Jun, problem always persists. I've contacted Raceme they said it's not a tune problem.).

What happens is truck seems to run fine, has power on low speeds, but if I try to make it go for 50miles/hour for example, the truck chimes 2 times, message on the overhead computer says "Service required" "See dealer now", truck goes into limp mode, it looses power and rpms will raise much slower than it should, gas pedal pressed all the way and it seems like there is no turbo.
If I turn off the engine and let it sit for some time, after it cools a little it starts and runs as it should until I try to go for higher speeds, then the same thing happens.
There is no engine light on, Raceme jun also shows no DTCs.

From what I've read this happens due to a fuel pressure problem. I've switched fuel filter (which was very clogged by the way), problem persists. I've seen also people saying the problem was the fuel rail not torqued to spec, mine is torqued a little more than it's recommended, its torqued at 65.
Next thing I'll try is shimming the relief valve as I've not tried that one yet, but I have a feeling that won't solve my problem.
Any other suggestions?

Tech99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 07:34 PM
Cummins Nut
 
jakeorders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 337
Thanks: 22
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Tech99, when was the last time you replaced your CCV filter? I just wanted to ask that since you didnt mentioned it on your list of thing you have done.

2008 Ram 2500 6.7L Laramie Fully Deleted,Ananchy EFI Live(CSP5) and TCM Tune,5" MBRP,Edge CTS,Carli (BJ,TB,CA,SB and Tune Fox Shocks),FS Airbags,AFE Trans/Diff covers,S&B CAI w/Scoop,Fass 150,Beans Sump,Fleece CBP,ARP 425,Bosch 65hp,Amsoil OBP,AMP Research,Redhead Box,GDP Pro WG,Banks IC/AH,Tater 63/67,BD Exh Man,
jakeorders is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I also read about the CCV filter (but I think that ones gives a "Perform service error" instead of "Service required" from what I've read), I have to take a look at it, but if it's still there I'll just do a CCV removal since it doesn't seem to be a bad thing to do from what I've read.
Tech99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 08:56 PM
Diesel Head
 
xcc_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Socialist Republic of Kalyforrnya
Posts: 3,867
Thanks: 144
Thanked 743 Times in 638 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Soooo, I'm assuming you don't have gauges?

Regardless if theres a cel or not, have you checked for codes. Especially inactive ones.
N1NJ4ON3R likes this.

2007.5 Black Ram 2500 MC SLT 6.7, 2wd, 68rfe, 3.73 diff
Edge CTS, SmartyJr tuned, PML xtra deep trans pan and 2 add on fuel filters
(delete parts are no longer in the garage)
xcc_rider is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to xcc_rider For This Useful Post:
N1NJ4ON3R (01-16-2020)
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 09:02 PM
Diesel Head
 
N1NJ4ON3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: BMT
Posts: 2,321
Thanks: 1,694
Thanked 431 Times in 389 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I'd clear codes and reflash the previous tune see if it clears up. Overhead: "preform service" regards ccv filter, not "service required" as mentioned. Ccv don't take a reflash to reset. You try key on-off 3 time for codes on the dash?

-2008 6.7l QCLB 4x4,g56,J-67(23ME),valair DD,64.5/72/14,2nd gen mani,arp 425's,boost and pyro... -1993 W250 CCLB...
-1996 brewed s14 w/ 386 rwhp & 341 rwtq @17psi twinscroll baby!!!(gt3076r)
N1NJ4ON3R is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcc_rider View Post
Soooo, I'm assuming you don't have gauges?

Regardless if theres a cel or not, have you checked for codes. Especially inactive ones.
I only have the stock gauges, I don’t have a fuel pressure gauge.
I’ve checked for codes with raceme jun and with one of the most expensive Autel, there are no codes present.

Quote:
Originally Posted by N1NJ4ON3R View Post
I'd clear codes and reflash the previous tune see if it clears up. Overhead: "preform service" regards ccv filter, not "service required" as mentioned. Ccv don't take a reflash to reset. You try key on-off 3 time for codes on the dash?
The codes on the dash only show up after I try to go over 50miles/hour, if I turn off the truck and wait a while the truck starts fine with no power problems and there are no codes showing up until I try to accelerate to around 50miles/hour, so the key on/off to delete the errors is not needed as they are not present if I just turn off and wait a while before starting again.
I’ve reflashed the tunes several times and did a dtc erase even with no codes present, truck still behaves the same.
Tech99 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-20-2020, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
anymore suggestions?
Tech99 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-20-2020, 10:00 PM
Diesel Head
 
N1NJ4ON3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: BMT
Posts: 2,321
Thanks: 1,694
Thanked 431 Times in 389 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What are the codes?

-2008 6.7l QCLB 4x4,g56,J-67(23ME),valair DD,64.5/72/14,2nd gen mani,arp 425's,boost and pyro... -1993 W250 CCLB...
-1996 brewed s14 w/ 386 rwhp & 341 rwtq @17psi twinscroll baby!!!(gt3076r)
N1NJ4ON3R is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-20-2020, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
By codes I meant "Service required" "See dealer now".
The engine light is not on and there are no DTC errors present.
Tech99 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2020, 03:02 AM
Newbie
 
Trellwills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I'm new to the forum. I have a 2009 with a deleted egr dpf . I have a dpf full message come on on the dash and see dealer on the info display. Mine is not derated though. I've been told it's a timer thing thru dash and info display. It has nothin to do with the ecm or tune.( is what I was told) there's some sort of sequence that you do, kinda like when resetting your oil life. I have not been able to find it. That's why I joined the forum.
Trellwills is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-07-2020, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Changed fuel filter which was very dirty, removed and cleaned fuel rail and had it torqued to spec. Problem remained, so we removed the fuel deposit and the pump that was inside was not very loose when working so I put a new one, car is still the same. I'm going to have the fuel pressure valve tested and high flow fuel pump tested also. There was some aluminium shavings in the fuel deposit pump net/filter.
Anything else that I'm missing that is quick to do before having the car taken to another shop to test the fuel pressure valve and high flow pump?

I tried putting the stock programming to see if any errors (besides EGR and related came up, since these programmers eliminate some erros and don't let the DTCs show up). After putting it stock, took it for a spin and error P1011 which is "Fuel Pump Delivery Pressure Too Low" came up, so I know im looking in the right direction.
Tech99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome