Pitman Arm play - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
07.5 - 09 3rd Gen 6.7L Non-Powertrain Discussion of Accessories, Interior, everything not power related...NO ADVERTISING

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 12:07 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zacksnipstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Pitman Arm play

Hey guys I’m in the middle of doing ball joints and control arms on my 07.5 6.7 3500 and I happened to bump my head on pitman and it moved about 3/4 an inch. Now I should mention I’ve had incredibly loose steering since I bought the truck a year ago and finally started looking into it. Everything else loose has been fixed, would could the loose pitman be?

zacksnipstead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 12:56 AM
Diesel Head
 
evildiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,005
Thanks: 29
Thanked 242 Times in 212 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Probably didn’t tighten the pitman arm up tight enough. Whether it be you or someone else that touched it last. The pitman arm is on a spline shaft that is also tapered like a tie rod end. It’s gotta be very tight.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 ST, RCLB, G56
AFE Intake - 4" Straight Flo-Pro Exhaust - EFILIVE - Southbend DD Clutch - CARLI - TGC 3.5" lift - 20x12 wheels - 35" AT2 Tires
evildiesel is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 09:10 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zacksnipstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ok I’ll try that after work
zacksnipstead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zacksnipstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So update I pulled the steering box brace out and am trying to tighten the nut but it won’t budge. Here’s a pic of the arm.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FA9A2745-6E69-4984-86FD-E1FB8DAD8308_1565918181234.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	272.3 KB
ID:	854213  
zacksnipstead is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 10:36 PM
TWR
Diesel Head
 
TWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Kit, Ontario
Posts: 1,836
Thanks: 299
Thanked 308 Times in 252 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
hi if it has been loose for awhile you should remove it and check the splines of the pitman arm and the sector shaft, i would say their will be damage on one or the other. As for nut torque its over 200ft. pounds

2003 Ram 3500 6 inch lift, 2016 Laramie Limited seats and 2012 console with [email protected] Shifter, Fass 95 pump, Built 47re and mishimoto trans cooler, Srt10 hood, Smarty touch.
TWR is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zacksnipstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWR View Post
hi if it has been loose for awhile you should remove it and check the splines of the pitman arm and the sector shaft, i would say their will be damage on one or the other. As for nut torque its over 200ft. pounds
Ok I know I can replace the pitman Arm if it’s damaged but can I replace the sector shaft or is that gonna be a new gearbox?
zacksnipstead is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 05:49 PM
ordo ab chao
 
Motorolanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West by God Virginia
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 72
Thanked 168 Times in 136 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacksnipstead View Post
Ok I know I can replace the pitman Arm if itís damaged but can I replace the sector shaft or is that gonna be a new gearbox?
New gearbox time. And replace the brace when done. I believe redhead makes a box.
Motorolanut is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 07:29 PM
TWR
Diesel Head
 
TWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Kit, Ontario
Posts: 1,836
Thanks: 299
Thanked 308 Times in 252 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hi just clean the spines on the sector shaft with a wire brush and look very close at them, you will see if they have any damage. It's likely easier for you to change the steering box if the splines have damage. I had to fix a buds Truck that the steering box brace nut diameter was not big enough to push up on the pitman arm hard enough on to taper and it would rock, so I got a new pitman arm and I made a new nut and put it back together its been fine for a few years now. That nut in his kit was only about 1/8 bigger than the spline hole and over time it started to rock on the sector shaft, the sector shaft was fine. How much bigger is the nut in your kit compared to the splines hole? That nut should be about a 1/4 inch bigger on each side than the hole so it can push the pitman arm up the shaft far enough and also retain it.

2003 Ram 3500 6 inch lift, 2016 Laramie Limited seats and 2012 console with [email protected] Shifter, Fass 95 pump, Built 47re and mishimoto trans cooler, Srt10 hood, Smarty touch.
TWR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome