Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Nitto 420s 305 55 22 safe to drive on?

13K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Piggsdiezel 
#1 ·
The title should be 305 45 22 first off. My bad it's my first time posting. So I have seen tons of people driving on the nitto 420 tire and would really like to get some for my 22s but this tire is 4 or 6 ply rated. My truck is not my towing truck so I would not tow on the tires just daily drive and lots of interstate driving. Isn't this tire rated way too low to install? Thanks for the advice.

#2 ·
"Safe" is a relative term that includes a lot more than just a tire's rating. You actually answered your own question when you mentioned the weak sidewall. Its not a 6ply tire, or it would have a "Light Truck - Load Range C" rating, which is the lowest rating for light truck tires. I dont know for sure, but I even doubt it has a 4 ply sidewall rating, probably 3 ply and could even have a 2 ply rating. Use them on a lighter 1/2 ton truck? Maybe. But there is a reason it is listed under "passenger car" tires (2 - 3ply rating) on Nitto's website, and not under the "Light Truck" tire section :confused013:

Reactions: Piggsdiezel
#4 ·
Im not saying people cant "get away" with running them without issues, but why take the chance on something happening? Not worth the risk of losing everything I own in a lawsuit, just to run the wrong tires on my truck.... all for a coolness factor :confused013:

#6 ·
I run the 305/50r20 and there rated for 3086 lbs@ 50 psi and tow all the time .. nothing super HUGE but between 4-10k lbs and have no problems ... on my 2ed set of tires actually ... I am sure if you loaded it like a retard you would have problems ................

but the 305/45r22 is rated for 2910 lbs @ 50 psi ... I see no reason why it would be a problem unless you had a mega cab and were always overloaded but these tires do put you at a higher risk of hurting a rim

#7 ·