Cummins Diesel Forum banner

manual or auto trans?

999 views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  terminaltsi 
#1 ·
i'm in the market for a 12 valve truck, and i dont know which to look for. i'm basically a car guy, but i need a truck to pull my cars around!
i'll be looking at the mid to late 90's ctd's. a friend of mine told me that the manual trans has a clutch effort that will make your leg jello from trying to push it in. is this true? maybe he just has weak legs! unless it's ridiculous, i don't see how it will bother me; i've been lifting for 15 years now and i squat over 500lbs so i don't see how a pressure plate is gong to wear out my left leg, but...

also, how much torque will the manual trans take? im not looking to make record braking power, but some basic bolt ons and a ecu tuner would be fine with me. would the manual handle this kind of power?

thanks.

#2 ·
Manual trans. is better becuase manly you will only have to get a better clutch to hold decent power like 500-600HP i think if i remember right. And ya the first time i drove my truck for a while and when i got out i about feel, but after that i have gotten used to it and it doesnt bother me at all.. But, best way to find out is to go text drive one and find out for yourself. Good luck and welcome to the forum

#3 ·
If I was primarily using my truck as a tow vehicle I would go with a 3500 Dually with a Manual.

Since mine is a "fun" vehicle thats kinda lifted, kinda fast, and only tows on occasion I went with a 2500 with an auto. However, I spent a lot of money to make my auto handle the power that a manual will handle with a replacement clutch.

#4 ·
well, i'll probably use it for some fun too....a little wheeling on the side and basically just something new to play with you know? modding vehicles is in my blood, i can't leave anything stock.

how much will the stock clutch take?

also, what should i look out for on one of these, considering they will have 100-120k miles on them?

#5 ·