Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Need General Help

681 views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  HiTech 
#1 ·
Unfortunate, I have had absolutely no luck with this problem and I can't find a Ford equivalent forum to ask this question, I was wondering if someone can point me in the right direction or if you can simply help me with my problem.

I have a Ford 750 with a 5.9L Cummins engine I recently changed 3 Fuel Injectors and now the vehicle will not start - My shop would usually not work on a vehicle of this nature however we were trying to help out a regular client that was having an issue.

I have 0 literature and absolutely no way of solving this problem, there is fuel going to the injector but the injectors are not opening up.

Any help would be appreciated.

#3 ·
Well, I'm by no means an expert. I would have to believe that those injectors are actually not getting fuel. I've never heard of injectors not opening before (doesn't mean that's not what's happening, but just that I've not heard it before). My guess is that there's enough air in the lines that you're gonna have to bleed the air out.

I read about guys cracking open injector lines and turning the starter over all the time to bleed the air out. I've not read about where exactly they're cracking it open.

There's only 2 places that I'm aware of to do this, and only one place seems like it would work. That's opening the lines at the out (to the injectors) at the injector pump. However, that seems like it might introduce as much air as it would bleed off. I'm not sure, I've not had to do it. Do a search for this info.

The other place is on the collar nuts (whatever they're called) where the lines run through or under the valve cover. But this seems like it might make a mess under the valve cover and wind up with diesel fuel in the oil.