"3 cylinder" idle - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > General Forums > General Diesel Discussion
General Diesel Discussion Discuss General Topics related to the Cummins , Dodge Rams , Other Diesels Ect....NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2007, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
"3 cylinder" idle

Does this so called 3 cylinder high idle actually run the engine on only 3 cylinders?

Does the factory automatic high idle in cold weather on an 06 5.9 use only 3 cylinders when it revs up to 1000rpm?

Thanks
asheng is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2007, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,631
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The 3rd gens do not have 3 cylinder mode...you would know if it did! But yes, 3 cylinders will not receive fuel when in 3 cylinder mode....

CLICKEY HERE
awenthol is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2007, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
No 3cyl idle on 3rd gens? What if I use a smarty? They claim 3cyl idle is enabled in all modes for 04-07 smartys.

3 cylinders sounds great. Is there a way to drive the truck using only 3 cylinders?

Anton
asheng is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2007, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,631
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Smarty can only enable high idle in the 3rd gens because that's all Dodge ever put into the programming. And no, driving the truck in 3 cylinder is not possible because the high idle only works when certain conditions are met...plus the truck would have no power.
awenthol is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2007, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
With the smarty 3 cylinder high idle, will it be 3 cylinders when the truck automatically idles up to 1000 rpm in cold weather, or will 3cyl only be activated using the cruise control?

I wonder what kind of MPG could be had driving around town on 3 cylinders...

If I understand correctly the purpose of the high idle is to keep the engine within a specific temperature range, now wouldn't there be half the heat being produced if only half the cylinders are firing?

Anton

Last edited by asheng; 12-23-2007 at 09:45 PM.
asheng is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2007, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,631
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Let me reiterate, YOU CANNOT have 3 cylinder mode on a 3rd gen and YOU CANNOT drive in 3 cylinder mode.

The purpose 3 cylinder mode is, it loads the engine, making it work thus creating more heat, AT IDLE. It only comes on (on the 2nd gens) when the intake air temperature is below 15*F and the coolant temp is below 160*F.
awenthol is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2007, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Okay I am just confused as to why MADS has advertised on their website that "Cold weather 3 Cylinder High Idle is enabled in all softwares" for "Smarty S-06 for Dodge Cummins Turbodiesel 5.9L (2003 - 2007)"

If these 3rd gen trucks are not capable of it.
asheng is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2007, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
TECH SPECIALIST
 
DodgeCummins98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: WV
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 17
Thanked 31 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by asheng View Post
Okay I am just confused as to why MADS has advertised on their website that "Cold weather 3 Cylinder High Idle is enabled in all softwares" for "Smarty S-06 for Dodge Cummins Turbodiesel 5.9L (2003 - 2007)"

If these 3rd gen trucks are not capable of it.
That's not the only incorrect claim either.

Still a nice programmer though.
__________________
98.5 2500 4x4 Reg Cab, 6" GrandRock's, SBC DD 3250, Adrenaline w/ Pulse, FASS 150, Isspro gauges, Auto to NV4500 swap, Leveled on 315's - GONE
07.5 3500 6.7L G56 Manual 4x4 Quad Cab Dually, Bone Stock
DodgeCummins98 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2007, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Inver Grove Hts
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have a Smarty and the high idle comes on at about 20 deg if the truck has been sitting for a good 10-12 hours. It will idle up after about 1 minute. If it is below about 10 deg the 3 cyl will start after about 1 minute of the idle up. It also will re-start idle up if you drive and stop and park and let it idle if it is not fully warmed up. I just discovered this yesterday. It was real blustery and I had only run the truck about 6-7 minutes down to the store. I normally don't let it idle when I go in but yesterday I did and when I came out it was on high idle. Pretty cool.

BTW the 3 cyl is very loud and rattly. You can hear it a block away. haha it's fun. Even the dogs bark at me. haha
__________________
'99 Quad cab 3500 SLT, dually, black, rwd, 5 spd, 4.10, brushguards, towing mirrors. fuel pressure gage, muffler lost, lift pump victim. now VP-44 victim , 19/20 mpg . Smarty
and yes... the plane will fly. older than dirt
bentwings is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2007, 11:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Wv7o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Before I got my Smarty Jr. if it were cold enough out the engine would idle up on its own to about 1000 rpm's much like the high idle on a gasser.

Smarty Jr. enabled the PTO hi idle function that allows me to turn on my cruise control hit the set button and the idle will increase to 1100 rpm, then if I use the Resume / Accel button I can step up the hi idle to a max of 1500 rpm.

If you step on the brake or turn off the cruise control the engine resumes it's normal 750 rpm idle.

You can turn on this PTO idle any time you want.

This is something that can be enabled at the dealership or by Smarty products and other downloaders. This is often used with an auto trans but can be used with a manual if you ground out pin 22 on the ECM then this function will operate if it is enabled.

Also I am quite certin that when I use this function I am running on all 6 cyl's, no different than using a stick to hold down the throttle, or sitting in a cold cab holding your foot on the throttle.

1500 RPM will get the windows defrosted and warming up the cab in about 7-10 min. did this Sunday the 23 in Eastern Washington temp was 27 deg. out did not use the block heater.
__________________
White '06 Ram 2500 SLT QC Cummins 4WD Auto, Smarty Jr. AFE Pro-Guard 7

Last edited by Wv7o; 12-25-2007 at 12:01 AM.
Wv7o is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2007, 12:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
Steveo24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hebron, Indiana
Posts: 1,851
Thanks: 42
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCummins98 View Post
That's not the only incorrect claim either.

Still a nice programmer though.
I'll agree with that statement, talk to people before you just believe what they tell you. Found out alot was different when I bought mine, but still a pretty nice product.
__________________
98.5 3500 2WD dually, 4:10's, Full Auto Meter, 5" Bullhaulers, Byrds Intake,3.3 whipple/ 62/ 475, HRVP, GHD, Studded and Ringed, 6x.018, .093 tubes, Stage 2 snow, Air Dog 165, Georend trans, VP intercooler boots
Steveo24 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2007, 02:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
Mmm...HELLCAT!!!
 
MoparProud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Laramie, WY @7200ft
Posts: 15,346
Thanks: 1,587
Thanked 4,642 Times in 2,867 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So whats these "incorrect claims" might I ask??
__________________
'07 3500 SRW QC/LB-EFILive w/Silverbullet Tuning-Goerend-WOP triples-Carli BackcountryProject Blue Balls
'03 2500 QC/LB. HO/NV-6.7 Swap-HE351v-Southbend-TNT/R


Quote:
Originally Posted by Common View Post
Why would you buy a Hellcat for road trips?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorSmokPls View Post
Because you can
MoparProud is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2