Dealer Computer Reflash - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > General Forums > General Diesel Discussion
General Diesel Discussion Discuss General Topics related to the Cummins , Dodge Rams , Other Diesels Ect....NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2007, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Dealer Computer Reflash

I have been reading several threads discussing computer reflashing by dealers. I was wondering why these computers are being reflashed and how do you know if your vehicle needs this? I have an '06 and was wondering if my truck need/benefit from this?
dbrown is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2007, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dad
Diesel Head
 
Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,458
Thanks: 22
Thanked 295 Times in 119 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You would do a dealer re-flash (primarily) for 2 reasons I can think of:

1) There is a factory service bulletin on the ECM that would fix some problem you have or is required by Dodge as a preventative measure. The dealers will flash your ECM a lot of times when you take the truck in for something completely unrelated; it's how they keep the ECM's current and protect themselves from warranty expense for known problems.

2) You bought your truck used and have no idea what the ECM really has on it.

2)
__________________
- Mine: '09 GMC Sierra LTX ECSB 2WD - Deletes, 4" Exhaust, AEM CAI, DP LMM 2.6 Stg 1.5 Drag Turbo, BD Manifold, Diamond Eye Downpipe, All Season Diesel Performance EGR/Grid Heater delete, PPE Race Valve, Edge Insight, '08 Hummer Wheels, DSP5 - EFI Live tuning by Mark Broviak @ Danville Performance.
Dad is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2007, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Supporting Vendor
 
Duluth Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 5,998
Thanks: 138
Thanked 203 Times in 155 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
My truck got flashed once from a 20 year old blonde on the interstate. It really improved my driving experience!

If your truck is having hard cold starts, missing, excessive injector knock, or other drivability issues, then an updated ECM flash (reprogram) might help. If it is running fine (no white smoke) I'd say leave it alone.

-Chuck
__________________
Proud Cummins Forum Sponsor since 2006 - SUPPORT YOUR CUMMINS FORUM SPONSORS, WE SUPPORT YOU. THANK YOU!
Specializing in AMSOIL everything


Duluth Diesel is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2007, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Sickboy774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 266
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I don't mean to hi-jack the thread but is "reflashing" what the dealer does when they reprogram the tire size?
__________________
03 2500 4x4 auto 4.10 N-Fab 6 step Mag Hytec front & rear diff. & trans pan, AFE air filter, Cool hose intake tube, PSM intake, AirDog 100, installing autometer gauges soon
Sickboy774 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2007, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I work at a dodge dealer and the info they have already put is correct. If there is a service bulletin that is related to a problem you are having then the tech will flash the controle module if the service bulletin says to do so and sometimes they will send out a recall and have all the vehicles flashed due to something that has effected that paticular type of vehicle and they are having problems with it.
Dodgetech is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2007, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
DBLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Iowa
Posts: 2,405
Thanks: 43
Thanked 66 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrown View Post
I have been reading several threads discussing computer reflashing by dealers. I was wondering why these computers are being reflashed and how do you know if your vehicle needs this? I have an '06 and was wondering if my truck need/benefit from this?
As the tech told me the last time I had it in to clear a CEL that I caused, he told me that yes they have ECM updates for the truck but if your not having any problems its best to leave it alone and not update it. I've read a few post about those who got a reflash done just because they were told it would make them get a better running engine or some other BS. Well some lost mileage and some had problems with power loss so don't get a reflash done just because you want it as you can never tell what can happen to a truck that doesn't need one.
__________________
2006 Ram 2500 Big Horn Edition Auto 5.9L Mineral Gray Met. Quad Cab SB 4X4 SRW 3.73's:
DBLR is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2