Kenworth T2000 - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > General Forums > General Diesel Discussion
General Diesel Discussion Discuss General Topics related to the Cummins , Dodge Rams , Other Diesels Ect....NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2009, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
nbaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,764
Thanks: 7
Thanked 64 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Kenworth T2000

Hey guys i amworkin on a friends truck and he is having AC problems and i cant keep the clutch in motion for more than a minute and then it turns off. Does anyone know where the freeze switch is.....how can i test it......how can i test those pressure switches.....
__________________
Diesel Pros, Maximum Diesel, Diesel Auto Power, Ultimate Diesel, OTT Performance, F1, Wicked Diesel, ARP and much more
nbaca is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2009, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
CoalRoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,546
Thanks: 189
Thanked 223 Times in 196 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Its been a while since I’ve touched a T2000 but follow the high pressure line back from the condenser and you should find 2 pressure switches attached to the line these are the binary and trinary switches. One switch will control the engine fan and the other will control the a/c compressor clutch. I know they are there for sure on a W900 and if I remember right the T2000 has them too.

You can test the circuit with a jumper wire. Unplug the fan switch and the fan should engage when the circuit is open and disengage when you insert the jumper wire. Unplug the compressor switch and the compressor should disengage with the circuit open and engage with the jumper inserted. You really need a/c gauges connected if you do this so you don’t let the head pressure get too high.

Next look on the driver side of the coolant reservoir. You should see a low pressure a/c line with a low pressure switch attached to it. Im not sure about testing this one because I think it has 3 wires, but like I said it’s been a while since I’ve worked on one.

If your engine fan is working properly and the compressor is cycling your switches are probably good. Check to make sure the condenser is clean. If air can’t pass through and cool it the high side pressure gets too high and the compressor will shut off.

Also if the refrigerant is low the low side pressure falls too low when the compressor comes on and the low pressure switch cuts off the compressor.

Have you hooked up a set of gauges to the truck to check the pressures and see if you have a blockage in the system?
__________________
2002 6-speed, 5 inch exh, Aeroturbine 5050XL, Icebox, Edge Drag Comp, +100 hp injectors from Diesel Auto Power, Isspro pyrometer, mechanical boost guage & electric fuel pressure gauge. FASS 95, Valair kevlar/ceramic clutch, faded paint, cracked dash, lots of miles
CoalRoller is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2009, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
nbaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,764
Thanks: 7
Thanked 64 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
I found the problem and it was the freeze switch. The probe that is inserted into the evap was bad and was causing a bad signal causing the clutch to cycle. Of course none in stock here in ABQ but at least i found the problem. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Diesel Pros, Maximum Diesel, Diesel Auto Power, Ultimate Diesel, OTT Performance, F1, Wicked Diesel, ARP and much more
nbaca is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2