Cummins Diesel Forum banner

6.7 or srt10

4K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  sublmnl 
#1 ·
I am very interested in buying a new truck or trading my 06 jeep commander for a pickup. I have been stuck between the SRT10 ram qc and the Ram qc Cummins 6.7 diesel. I no that everyone has their own opinion on what is the best. I also know there are a lot of forums out there which compare them. I am located in lower ny. It does snow here so that is the only major concern I have with the srt but I can use another car if needed. My major issue is for the money spent, looks aside, what can I make faster with some basic mods. Such as a full exhaust, intake, programmer or computer and some other mild mods nothing to extreme, I used nitrous a few times but I think it’s a cheater mod. The modo now is all throttle no bottle. I already had my jeep go through all the major work and I don’t want a car like that anymore. I am also looking for something reliable. I love speed not gonna lie, and I love it even more when you smoke some sports cars with a truck either kind. I will probably drag race a few times but that’s not what I really enjoy. What really gets me going are those random highway runs from like a 30 roll going full throttle. So my questions are:
1: For the money spent besides the cost of the truck which is cheaper to make it run in the 13’s?
2:On insurance which of the two is cheaper?
3:Which of the 2 is more reliable?
4:In ny if you were in my situation which would you choose?
5:After doing some of the minor mods which truck is the dealer going to be more lenient with?
6:Also on both how reliable are the transmissions?

Thanks for the help on this 1

See less See more
#2 ·
1-the srt should be in the 13's stock. but is a more expensive truck, with the money saved you can do many mods to the diesel to make it sick!!!
2- depending on how your insurance is, they go by theft rates and weight of the vehicle here. a v10 might get you up there too though