All symptoms point to cam sensor... right? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum

98.5-02 Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect..NO ADVERTISING .

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2011, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
leman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
All symptoms point to cam sensor... right?

A few months ago i put a new injection pump in and while i had it out, i also put in a new CAM sensor in just for safe measure because it was easy to get to.

Recently, my RPM gauge has been not working once and a while along with the check engine light, and the truck acts very sluggish when it does stop working. From this i figured it must be a bad CAM sensor, so i put the old one back in because i know it was still good and should work. After a few days of driving, the check engine light came back on with the same symptoms as before.

Is there a possibility that something else is causing these problems, or am i just unlucky and both CAM sensors went bad at the same time? I dont know what the check engine light code is because i dont have a scanner and it is a 99 so i cant do the key trick. Any help would be appreciated, thanks


1999 dodge 2500, ext cab, short bed, 6spd std, SO, Air Dog 150, BHAF, silencer ring MIA, IQuad, More to come
"You hafta put the power making stuff in the power making place to make power"
leman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2011, 10:07 AM
Cummins Fan
 
JonXR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Windsor
Posts: 92
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It could be your crankshaft position sensor. It's behind the starter. Have it scanned to make sure.

Jon
'02 QCSB 4x4 auto, 4" turbo back exhaust, BHAF, BD Flow-Max LP, Edge JWA/CS
JonXR5 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to JonXR5 For This Useful Post:
leman (03-31-2011)
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2011, 10:40 AM
VP Moderator
 
dozer12216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,693
Thanks: 1,658
Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,380 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
True, suspect the crank sensor and look carefully at wiring. Possiblly pinched during VP replace???

2008 3500 stock QCLB dually Inferno red. Toys: Fuel injected Rampage, Road Grader, 1586 tractor, 60K genset, Honda ATV, and more. Back in business with a Hitachi EX270LC excavator. The dirt slinging has begun with 50+ acres to clear.
dozer12216 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to dozer12216 For This Useful Post:
leman (03-31-2011)
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2011, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
leman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i never would have thought of it being the crank sensor. I quickly checked the wires for the CAM sensor when i changed it, but ill check again and try to find someone with a scanner. Thanks for your help

1999 dodge 2500, ext cab, short bed, 6spd std, SO, Air Dog 150, BHAF, silencer ring MIA, IQuad, More to come
"You hafta put the power making stuff in the power making place to make power"
leman is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 12:48 AM
Diesel Freak
 
sledwrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dutton, MT
Posts: 656
Thanks: 14
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The tach doesn't get it's signal from the cam sensor on your truck. It only does on the ones without a crank sensor. Hence the tone ring is on your crank. check your crank sensor.

00 SWB, Quad, Auto, 2wd, BHAF, FASS 95, Juice WAM, 4" Diamond Eye Strait,Smarty,3cyl/hi idle box.

98 RC 3500 4x4, 12 valve,DDP 75's,4k gsk,ARP studs,NV4500 with South bend 1 3/8" input shaft and OFE Con single disk,flatbed. 4" Diamond Eye Strait,BHAF.
sledwrecker is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to sledwrecker For This Useful Post:
leman (03-31-2011)
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
leman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I changed the crank sensor last night and it was a PITA. It took a few hours of fighting and making a special tool to pull it out, but it fixed the problem. I think i might invest in buying a code scanner for the future. Thanks again for everyone's help

1999 dodge 2500, ext cab, short bed, 6spd std, SO, Air Dog 150, BHAF, silencer ring MIA, IQuad, More to come
"You hafta put the power making stuff in the power making place to make power"
leman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome