Cam Sensor Bad? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 2nd Gen. Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 24V Forums > 98.5-02 Powertrain
98.5-02 Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect..NO ADVERTISING .

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2009, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Cam Sensor Bad?

I have a 2002 Cummins in a Dodge 3500, What are some of the probs. that arrise when the cam sensor is bad? where can i get one? and can it be changed without removing the fuel pump?
RCTrucking is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2009, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
cummin 723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: walton hills ohio
Posts: 122
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
well first you should get an error code...when the cam sensor whent in my truck it dident just die it worked then it wouldent, also the tach would die.. and with my chip on it would idle real rough. the cam sensor is up front under the injector pump. its a real pain in the arse to get at. there is only one wire plug and a small allen key holdind it in.. i found it easyer to do from under the truck and the allen bits that go on a 1/4 rachet came in handy it was about a 1/2 hour job...i got one from advance at it cost about 40 bucks or so and i dident remove any of the fuel system to do it

hope this helps!!!
Butch
__________________
o1' 3500 dually,6 speed swaped south bend dual disk. 4.10 gears ,5 inch Turbo back ,egde j/a with hot code,k+n,silencer ring fell out,fass-150,

Last edited by cummin 723; 02-15-2009 at 01:41 AM.
cummin 723 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Cam Sensor

Yep! You have furnished me with what i needed to know, my tach drops off somtimes but dosn't seem to effect engine. anyway Thank You for responding!!
RCTrucking is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
www.Mopar1973Man.com
 
Mopar1973Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Meadows, Idaho
Posts: 20,759
Thanks: 1,476
Thanked 2,994 Times in 2,320 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCTrucking View Post
Yep! You have furnished me with what i needed to know, my tach drops off somtimes but dosn't seem to effect engine. anyway Thank You for responding!!
Still scratchin' my head about that yet... Something in my mind still doesn't add up right.

RC you might want to fill out your signature so other can help ya...
http://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/pr...=editsignature
__________________
Mopar1973Man -=- AKA: Michael Nelson
2002 Dodge Ram 2500 - Cummins Turbo Diesel - 5 Speed 4WD
1996 Dodge Ram 1500 - 5.9L V8 Magnum - Automatic 4WD
Mopar1973Man is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 12:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Michael! using a computer is an area i'm not very exp. in. I guess what i'm trying to say is i don't quite know what to enter. But thx. for the tip, I'll ask my son when he come's over next.
RCTrucking is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
www.Mopar1973Man.com
 
Mopar1973Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Meadows, Idaho
Posts: 20,759
Thanks: 1,476
Thanked 2,994 Times in 2,320 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCTrucking View Post
Michael! using a computer is an area i'm not very exp. in. I guess what i'm trying to say is i don't quite know what to enter. But thx. for the tip, I'll ask my son when he come's over next.
Really simple when you get to the screen in the link provided... Just enter Year, make, body (Long or short)... Any information you can provide about the truck.

Like my truck would list out like...

2002 Dodge 2500, LWB, 140K miles, AirDog 150, Custom Backup Lights, BHAF, Custom Crankcase Vent, Edge Comp, Exhaust Brake, Custom Fog Lamps, Frantz Filter, DiPricol Gauges, Kenwood MP3 player, straight piped, Silencer ring, ScanGauge II, Custom High Idle...

But since the signature box isn't big enough on most sites its just best to drop a link to my BOMBs...
BOMBs
__________________
Mopar1973Man -=- AKA: Michael Nelson
2002 Dodge Ram 2500 - Cummins Turbo Diesel - 5 Speed 4WD
1996 Dodge Ram 1500 - 5.9L V8 Magnum - Automatic 4WD
Mopar1973Man is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 02:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
OK I'll try that. Trying to find dealers for Air Dog, Vulcan Perf. and Stealth Plate!
RCTrucking is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 02:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
www.Mopar1973Man.com
 
Mopar1973Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Meadows, Idaho
Posts: 20,759
Thanks: 1,476
Thanked 2,994 Times in 2,320 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCTrucking View Post
OK I'll try that. Trying to find dealers for Air Dog, Vulcan Perf. and Stealth Plate!
Here you go...
Manufacture Contacts

Dealer Contacts
__________________
Mopar1973Man -=- AKA: Michael Nelson
2002 Dodge Ram 2500 - Cummins Turbo Diesel - 5 Speed 4WD
1996 Dodge Ram 1500 - 5.9L V8 Magnum - Automatic 4WD
Mopar1973Man is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2009, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Already tried that. thats where i got Pureflow's #. But when i click on Vulcan it say's page not found.
RCTrucking is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2009, 01:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,167
Thanks: 458
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Vulcan Diesel Performance offers DDUSA twin turbos, FireBall injectors, DrawStraws, Big line kits, FASS fuel pumps, Parker bio fuel line, Quadzilla products, DTT Transmissions, Isspro gauges, High Tech Turbos , Veg pumps, metric adapters & fittings,


Just worked for me.
__________________
RR
'01 QC 2500 long bed, 3:54 auto w/Dunrite VB & LU switch, untapped Comp, Scan gauge II, Raptor lift pump, fuel pressure gauge and trans temp gauge.
Russ Roth is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2009, 01:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new mexico
Posts: 90
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
is it possible to have a bad cps and not get a light ?
__________________
99 dodge ram
zhcampbell is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2009, 08:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 201
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I got a code when mine went, cant remember the #. Tach would come and go and when the tach wasnt working, it was way down on power but still ran, just kinda sick. It can be changed without removing anything but its tight in there and is pretty much done by feel. I used a loooog extention and did it from the top of the truck. Get a mirror and get a good look at the project before you start. Good luck.

okie
__________________
01, QC, 4x4, auto, Power puc, muff mia, SSI Steering Stabilizer, FASS 95, BHAF.
okiefired is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2