Cummins Diesel Forum banner

rebuilding 2nd gen 12v cummins

8K views 16 replies 4 participants last post by  FordCummins74 
#1 ·
im new to the fourms and im just barely starting out with diesels have been studying about them for sometime now but still know very little about them going to a diesel mechanic college soon though and im thinking of doing a 12v cummins swap into a 06 superduty but i wanna rebuild the engine rather than buy one with alot of miles on it ive found one that needs rebuilt and is very cheap here in town but the cylinders are messed up rly bad i thought about taking it to a machine shop and boring it over but whats the max you can bore a 5.9 12v over that wont weaken the walls :confused013: want to use it for heavy towing and any upgrades for power and torque i wanna try and push 700-800 torque and 300-400 hp

#2 ·
If you're gonna keep the horsepower goal so low, why don't you just stud the 6.0 and do an egr delete, then an sct tuner. Youd be right in the horsepower range you're looking for. A 12v swap is way too expensive for such a low horsepower goal. Just way too much trouble.

#3 ·
thats just starting out after saving up more money i plan to add more hp i dont have much worry with money with my new job paying at 30 an hr 10 hrs a day 5 days a week plus electronics are the thing i hate the most in diesels thats the main reason im going to do a 12 swap i wanna make atleast 500-600 hp once i start learning more about diesel so i know exactly what im doing

#4 ·
Well if that's the case I'd go ahead with the swap. I'd find a good motor first. Where I'm from, you can find good running 12 valve ppump motors with under 150k for $1200. you'd have a lot more than that into rebuilding/boring one out.

#6 ·