PCM/ECM no communication - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
94-98 Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
PCM/ECM no communication

Hey guys, I've never been registered here but I have used this site on numerous occasions with my truck.

The Problem:
I have a 96 2500 auto. When I'm driving my tranny will switch into 3rd gear and stay in 3rd until i restart my engine. Once I restart my engine I'll have all gears for about 2mins or until I slow back down to 3rd from overdrive.
I took it in to my buddies shop and he hooked up his snapon diagnostic tool and it cant communicate with the computer. My Tranny guys says its something electrical and I'm curious whether to replace the PCM or ECM or whether they are the same. Thanks for your help.

The Truck is for sale also.
96 cummins auto with only 90,000 with rebuilt tranny 15000 on it


Last edited by Twitchy; 05-06-2011 at 09:57 AM.
Twitchy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 10:14 AM
Diesel Head
 
GAmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Killeen, TX
Posts: 11,413
Thanks: 115
Thanked 1,341 Times in 1,156 Posts
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
You only have a PCM, ECMs didn't arrive until the '98 24valves. The most likely culprit, from my limited knowledge of slush boxes, is the throttle position sensor.

97 3500, 2 WD, G56, slightly bombed, 1.2 million miles. Started the second million on 8/24/13
If you are lucky enough to be in Texas, you are lucky enough.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GAmes is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What's weird is I've hooked it up to two different scanners and they don't even communicate with the computer. Anyone know what causes that?
Twitchy is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 08:26 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 16,224
Thanks: 27
Thanked 2,273 Times in 1,601 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It's because '96 and older have Chrysler's DRB programing.
'97 and newer have OBD programing which most scanners come with.
DRB software is very pricey.

You can also check your codes like this> Diesel Ram DTC's

Bill
'95 2500 4wd auto
'95 3500 5 speed heavy hauler
Stock for one day
illflem is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-09-2011, 07:58 AM
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 465
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have a 98 that's doing the same thing with the scanner. Did y'all ever figure this out?

1998 2500 Ext Cab 12 valve Auto 4x4, 15.75*, 215 sticks, 4" Turbo Back Exhaust, Cold Air intake, Di Pricol Gauges, #10 Plate 1/2 back, Goerends Tranny w/ Triple Disk TC & new VB, w/ VBA, 350K+ on the clock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tachessher is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-09-2011, 01:43 PM
Diesel Head
 
MotorCityMadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 1,863
Thanks: 92
Thanked 98 Times in 92 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
96 is OBDII

98 2500,4x4auto,48re vb,billet single,shift kit+, Super B, 4" ss,#10 ff,4gsk,.024s, 5x.014, BHAF,16* gauges,WVO, B164 bypass 2004.5 3500, SRW, FASS WVO, B164 bypass, Edge@1 Sold 96 2500 eclb 3gsk
MotorCityMadman is online now  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-18-2011, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Its OBDII, for some reason the Scanner(Snap-on) wasn't picking up my truck. I took it back and now it does self recognize my Dodge. My mechanic said he had no idea why it worked now and not earlier.
Twitchy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome