Cummins Diesel Forum banner

14mpg!! and serious turbo lag

12K views 18 replies 13 participants last post by  rtc1184 
#1 ·
Hey guys im very new to 12 valve engines but 14 mpg seems pretty low to me for any diesel motor and if im wot or half throttle it doesnt matter at take off you cant see behind the my truck for all the black smoke but it seems very slow to me and doesnt start building boost for 5 sec at least very laggy to me to say the least, it seems to me like the truck is flooding bad hence all the black smoke. I have only had the truck for 4 days now and the previous owner told me that it has hx-40 turbo, 215hp injectors, and he said they adjusted the timing he didnt say if it was retarded or advanced though, oh yea and the fuel plate is stock and in the stock position has never been touched so im told....anyways i was just wondering if maybe the timing could be off and what could be causing all the smoke at take off? Thanks for any help guys itll be greatly appreciated

#2 ·
I'm gonna guess that if he did a different turbo and different sticks, your truck may be in the same condition as the "slow spooling/bogging" truck.

Does it still have its AFC? How many miles? What is the truck (signature)? What boost/fuel pressure/pyro do you get?

What conditions do you drive in? 50? 60? 85? Taxi-like stop and go? Auto or manual? Rear end? Tires?

#3 ·