Vin # reprogram ???? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
94-98 Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Vin # reprogram ????

I just replaced the pcm in my 98 12 valve with a used one, now the electrical problem is fixed but I have the abs, brake and seatbelt light on. The dealer says that they can't clear the lights becaus the vin # in the pcm and the vin # in my truck don't match. I have been told by a few mechanics that it can be done and it makes sense that it can because you can buy factory refurbs... anybody know who can program my PCM with my vin#?

ditchpicklefan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-01-2009, 01:56 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 16,224
Thanks: 27
Thanked 2,262 Times in 1,600 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
'98 is an oddball, the PCM has to be specific to that year or it won't work or be reprogrammed.

Bill
'95 2500 4wd auto
'95 3500 5 speed heavy hauler
Stock for one day
illflem is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-05-2009, 01:59 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have the right pcm for the truck, i just need to find someone who can program in the vin #
ditchpicklefan is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-05-2009, 02:58 AM
Diesel Head
 
ykdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 20
Thanked 957 Times in 748 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
the dealer should be able to reprogram the vin and milage into the new PCM... if any of their mechanics have a grain of sense...

2015 3500 laramie dually. 6.7, aisin, 4.10s, bone stock... (for now )
2014 forest river XLR 395amp, 42.5ft of truck killing, wind catching, toy and booze hauling, fun...
ykdave is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i've talked to a couple of dealers now and they all say that it can't be done....
ditchpicklefan is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 08:32 PM
Diesel Freak
 
calebmcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kc,mo
Posts: 733
Thanks: 2
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: -1 reviews
I'm a tech at a dealership and if my grain of sense is right i think that once a VIN is programmed into a controller it can't be changed.

maybe try some aftermarket company that can completely wipe out the pcm and reprogram it i dunno
calebmcclellan is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 08:33 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 16,224
Thanks: 27
Thanked 2,262 Times in 1,600 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
When I needed one programed the dealer said to take to Cummins.
Cummins NW said to take to the dealer.
So I finally took it to the dealer, they sent it out to Cummins NW and they actually did it.
It was even right but cost $90.

Bill
'95 2500 4wd auto
'95 3500 5 speed heavy hauler
Stock for one day
illflem is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 08:43 PM
Diesel Head
 
ykdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 20
Thanked 957 Times in 748 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
last time i had read up on it, the chrysler DRBIII scan tool was able to reprogram the VIN#

2015 3500 laramie dually. 6.7, aisin, 4.10s, bone stock... (for now )
2014 forest river XLR 395amp, 42.5ft of truck killing, wind catching, toy and booze hauling, fun...

Last edited by ykdave; 07-13-2009 at 08:46 PM.
ykdave is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 08:56 PM
Diesel Freak
 
calebmcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kc,mo
Posts: 733
Thanks: 2
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: -1 reviews
yeah the drb is able to program the vin but i think once its programmed into a controller it can't be changed. the only time we ever need to program the vin on any vehicle is when the controller is replaced. and obviously at a dealership we don't put in "junkyard" controllers. every car i've worked on the had a "junkyard" pcm had a code for vin mismatch.
calebmcclellan is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 09:00 PM
Diesel Head
 
ykdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 20
Thanked 957 Times in 748 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i know nothing of the DRB3, so maybe it is, or isnt possible to reprogram the vin without first somehow erasing it.

This is what i got off of the writeup i was reading before... The writeup is based on using a DRB3.

Important Note:

If the Powertrain Control Module has been changed and the correct VIN and mileage have not been programmed, a DTC will be set in the ABS, Air Bag and SKIM modules when equipped. In addition, if the vehicle is equipped with a Sentry Key Immobilizer Module (SKIM), Secret Key data must be updated to enable starting.

For ABS and Air Bag systems:

1. Enter correct VIN and Mileage in PCM.
2. Erase codes in ABS and Air Bag modules.

For SKIM Theft Alarm:

1. Connect the DRB to the data link connector.
2. Go to Engine, Misc. and place the SKIM in secured access mode, by using the appropriate PIN code for this vehicle.
3. Select Update the Secret Key data, data will be transferred from the SKIM to the PCM (This is required to allow the vehicle to start with the new PCM).
4. If three attempts are made to enter secured access mode using the incorrect PIN, secured access mode will be locked out for one hour. To exit this lock out mode, leave the ignition key in the Run/Start position for one hour. Ensure all accessories are turned off. Also monitor the ( battery state and connect a battery charger if necessary.

2015 3500 laramie dually. 6.7, aisin, 4.10s, bone stock... (for now )
2014 forest river XLR 395amp, 42.5ft of truck killing, wind catching, toy and booze hauling, fun...
ykdave is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 09:11 PM
Diesel Freak
 
calebmcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kc,mo
Posts: 733
Thanks: 2
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: -1 reviews
what you are reading is the correct procedure when replacing a controller with a new one. I've been using the drb everyday for about 5 years and have programmed many VINs but i have never erased one and dont think that it's possible with the drb. i'm sure its definitely possible to do with some other type of computer but i don't think that when chrysler made the drb they probably didnt want all the dealerships to go around erasing VIN #s. also i havent seen any 12 valve trucks with a skim module (key with a chip) so you dont have to worry about that.
calebmcclellan is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 09:23 PM
Diesel Head
 
ykdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 20
Thanked 957 Times in 748 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
True enough, it may be able to change the vin, but im sure if it is it would be a real roundabout way to do it because like you say, im sure they dont want any ol monkey going around changing vin#s!

Maybe just try a place that reman's the PCMs, surely they would be able to set the VIN#

2015 3500 laramie dually. 6.7, aisin, 4.10s, bone stock... (for now )
2014 forest river XLR 395amp, 42.5ft of truck killing, wind catching, toy and booze hauling, fun...
ykdave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome