Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Buying a cummins

2K views 22 replies 10 participants last post by  atasirudy 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. New here to the forum.
I'll give a brief introduction.

My name is brad I'm 22 years old. I've been a diesel mechanic for around 2 years now but I've been around diesels for about 4 years now.
Im located in Orange County ca.

I've owned two 7.3 ford diesels and they have been good to me but I want to own a cummins because I hear a lot of good things about them.

I found a 98 2500 with a 5.9 cummins.

Not sure if it's the 24v or 12v what's the best way to tell and what's better?

It has a 173k miles and he is asking 8500
I think that's a little high even though the truck is immaculate. I've seen trucks for that price have 90k miles

What are some things to look at as far as power train goes? Besides the basics (engine oil tranny oil air filter leaks) etc etc

I've heard things about lift pumps and transmissions

What do you guys think of the price?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks, brad.

See less See more
#2 ·
Its difficult to figure which is which. The 12v says cummins turbo diesel on the door and the 24v says Cummins 24v turbo. You're a diesel tech???

#4 ·
Look at the tach.

12 valve has a 3,000 rpm redline.
24 valve has a 3,200 rpm redline.

The VP44 injection pump on the 24 valve has a bad reputation. It fails often enough that some think of it as a 150k mile part. When you get a rebuilt IP they may not make it through the 1 year warranty.

The 24 valve can use a programmer. In theory it should gain mpg over the 12 valve. Press releases claimed a 5% increase in mpg. However, you have electronic junk to go bad. That could easily destroy any fuel savings in parts costs.