No tach and no charge. - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 2nd Gen. Dodge Cummins 94-98 12V Forums > 94-98 Non-Powertrain
94-98 Non-Powertrain Discussion of 94-98 Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2008, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
No tach and no charge.

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and the diesel world. My son has a 94 dodge 2500 5.9 turbo diesel, auto trans he just bought. The tach is not working and will not charge the battery. My son is in auto tech shop at high school. The shop teacher jumped the relay to make it charge, thats all he had time for. The last owner said he replaced the computer. I was looking through the forum and found it could be the engine speed sensor, the sensor that is above the harmonic balancer. I called the dealers and they all want to call it the crank sensor, I do not think that is what it is called by what I have read on this forum. Any help you people can give me will be great.
Thanks, Gary
glegee is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2008, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
first off the last owner must have been kinda special 94-98 cummins have no computers on them. I had them same problem with the tach and on way to my work (mechanic) and then it started workin.
__________________
95 12v 2wd, reg cab, long bed.
94 12v 2wd, reg cab, long bed.
a3ftgiant is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2008, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Gone Fishing!!
 
pro99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chesterfield, Mi
Posts: 3,052
Thanks: 159
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
They do have an computer on the 94 to 98's its called the pcm. More than likely the crank shaft sensor at the harmonic damper. Check your wiring from the sensor to pcm because if the pcm does not see an rpm it will not charge.
pro99 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2008, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lakeview OREGON
Posts: 2,620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I was going to say the Crank shaft sencor sounds like the right thing. and thanks for correcting the computer thing:thumbsupgood things for me to know later on...
Quote:
Originally Posted by pro99 View Post
They do have an computer on the 94 to 98's its called the pcm. More than likely the crank shaft sensor at the harmonic damper. Check your wiring from the sensor to pcm because if the pcm does not see an rpm it will not charge.
GETERDID is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2008, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So it is called the crank sensor. does anyone have the corrrect part number for it? When I go on to the NAPA web site it comes up with a part that does not look like what is on the truck now.
How would I test it to confirm it is bad? The truck still runs OK, just no tach or charging.

Thanks for all the quick replies.
Gary
glegee is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2008, 11:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oh
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That's def. what the problem is. I had the same problem. All i did was clean the contacts and put some die electric grease on it, and it worked like a charm. The trucks have issues if any kind of dirt or oil get on the contacts of any of the wires. Try that, also follow the wires down the wire loom back to make sure the wires havent been accidently cut. I purchased one of those manuals from auto zone, and it gave a step by step on how to replace it.
__________________
95' 2500 4x4
4 inch straight piped, BHAF, 3k gs kit
shorte_33 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2008, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
gstanfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rolling Hills, WY
Posts: 713
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have a very similiar issue except mine does not have any of the dash lights working (check engine, wait to start, etc) I'm pretty sure in my case it is hte PCM gone bad, but I hate ot buy it until I know for sure. Anyone know of a good method to be sure which part is bad??

Thanks,
George
__________________
1997 2500 ext cab long bed 4x4 Boost control elbow, BHAF, KDP tabbed, 3k gsk kit, dodgezilla hybrid turbo, Z-series gauges, 47RE built w/valve body & converter, #100 plate.
gstanfield is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2008, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 16,214
Thanks: 27
Thanked 2,123 Times in 1,573 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
So it is called the crank sensor
No. It's called the engine speed sensor or ESS.
Crank Position Sensor is not used on 12 valves, just the 24s.
__________________
Bill
'95 2500 4wd auto
'95 3500 5 speed heavy hauler
Stock for one day
illflem is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2008, 12:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by illflem View Post
No. It's called the engine speed sensor or ESS.
Crank Position Sensor is not used on 12 valves, just the 24s.
FYI for everyone, I did some searching and I found MOPAR calls it the engine speed sensor, part #04746691. NAPA auto parts sells it and calls it a vehicle speed sensor, item# ECHVSS106. They are one in the same part but called two different names. I know NAPA calls it the wrong name just to confuse the crap out you. 10 bucks cheaper at NAPA. I am going to install it tonight to see if that fixes the tach and charge issues.

Gary

Last edited by glegee; 01-08-2008 at 12:49 PM.
glegee is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2008, 06:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 16,214
Thanks: 27
Thanked 2,123 Times in 1,573 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Are sure Napa is selling you the right part?
I think they aren't.
There is what is called a Vehicle speed sensor by Mopar but it goes on the tranny or transfer case to measure vehicle speed not engine rpm.
It wouldn't be that bad for Napa to misname a part but to call it the name of another part would be a major blow it.
__________________
Bill
'95 2500 4wd auto
'95 3500 5 speed heavy hauler
Stock for one day

Last edited by illflem; 01-08-2008 at 06:22 PM.
illflem is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2008, 07:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by illflem View Post
Are sure Napa is selling you the right part?
If you go to the web site and put in that part number you will see it is the right one. Look in my truck pics link, I have a picture of it.

I changed the sensor and the tach and charge circuit works now.
Now on to all the fluid leaks

Thanks for all the help!!!

Gary
glegee is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2008, 11:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Gone Fishing!!
 
pro99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chesterfield, Mi
Posts: 3,052
Thanks: 159
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Good job glad we could help:thumbsup
pro99 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2