blew the freeze plug - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
911 Urgent Situations Emergency Forum , Need Help Fast ? Post Here ! Urgent Topics Only...NO ADVERTISING

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 02:27 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Blue01Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 342
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
blew the freeze plug

i was with a buddy tonight we were racing and it started leaking antifreeze. We started looking around and a freeze plug on the back of the block blew out how did that happen? and how do i put a new plug in the back of the block? It is and 2003 thanks rich


2001 Dodge Ram 2500, 6 speed, Gauges pyro and boost, AirDog 150, 150 Horse fireball injectors, 4in exhaust..
Blue01Cummins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Blue01Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 342
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
does anyone know how i can put a new one in?

2001 Dodge Ram 2500, 6 speed, Gauges pyro and boost, AirDog 150, 150 Horse fireball injectors, 4in exhaust..
Blue01Cummins is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 09:40 PM
......................... .....
 
Rollin Coal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,798
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
put some red loctite on it and tap it in w/ a rubber mallet. but until you fix the issue your going to keep having probs.

im going to guess headgasket is leaking combustion pressure into coolant passage.

R.I.P. Jonathan Link
Rollin Coal is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 09:57 PM
Innovative Diesel
 
DODGE74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Middletown, DE
Posts: 6,944
Thanks: 725
Thanked 1,735 Times in 1,280 Posts
iTrader Score: 15 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollin Coal View Post
put some red loctite on it and tap it in w/ a rubber mallet. but until you fix the issue your going to keep having probs.

im going to guess headgasket is leaking combustion pressure into coolant passage.
Thats what it sounds like to me
DODGE74 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 10:16 PM
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 478
Thanks: 2
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
was the engine cold

programmers don't detune when the engine is cold and when the thermostat is closed the pressure the water pump creates in the block will blow the freez plug out of the back of the head. it is a common problem. and some truck can have it happen when the thermostat is open, some body sells a kit it is a plate that goes over the opening and holds it in.

TDI.
gator6 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 10:16 PM
Diesel Head
 
RDyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pampa TX
Posts: 2,340
Thanks: 10
Thanked 82 Times in 70 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I blew mine about 5 months ago. I had just got the TNT software that raised the rpm's a little bit. I was trying to get my tune--fine tuned by doing several WOT runs north of town.

After much research, the concensus is the warmer than normal engine--from the 8-10 WOT runs and the higher rpm's causing more coolant pressure in the block pushes the freeze plug out.

I found a replacement plate from Enterprize Engine Performance to plug the hole. It is a billet aluminum plate with 3 holes that match holes on the back of the block to attach it.It has a machined plug with an o-ring to plug the hole. I had to remove the right front tire and the inner fender liner to be able to get to the bolts. But I was able to install it without dropping the tranny.

It cost about $45 before shipping. It wasn't easy to get installed, but at least I didn't have to pull the tranny.

Randy

2014 QC Laramie
Sold--03 SO/Auto, QC/4X4, TST/Smarty/Puck, Boost/Fuel/Pyro/Rail, SPS-62, Goerend, Airdog, Arson Kit, Wicked 50's, ARP, 613/1171, 13.16@108.2
RDyson is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 10:19 PM
Diesel Freak
 
409Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 923
Thanks: 21
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
when you install it dont use a punch! use a socket just a hair smaller than the plug

Nathan
2006 Ram 3500 Inferno Red Big Horn 5.9/Auto
1998 Chevrolet K3500 454/Auto
2010 Challenger B5 Blue SRT8 6.1/6spd
1967 Dodge Coronet PPG7000 Black 383/4spd
409Cummins is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 10:30 PM
......................... .....
 
Rollin Coal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,798
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
ive never head of the water pump causing pressure issues on a 2nd gen, only 3rd gen

R.I.P. Jonathan Link
Rollin Coal is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-18-2008, 02:20 AM
Diesel Head
 
RDyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pampa TX
Posts: 2,340
Thanks: 10
Thanked 82 Times in 70 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollin Coal View Post
ive never head of the water pump causing pressure issues on a 2nd gen, only 3rd gen
In the first post, he said it was a 2003.

Randy

2014 QC Laramie
Sold--03 SO/Auto, QC/4X4, TST/Smarty/Puck, Boost/Fuel/Pyro/Rail, SPS-62, Goerend, Airdog, Arson Kit, Wicked 50's, ARP, 613/1171, 13.16@108.2
RDyson is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-18-2008, 03:11 PM
......................... .....
 
Rollin Coal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,798
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
oh missed that i was going by his sig

R.I.P. Jonathan Link
Rollin Coal is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-19-2008, 02:00 PM
Cummins Nut
 
Nohel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: TN,KY border
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i found the kit to eliminate the problame BOE Kit

06 -2500 4X4, SMARTY TNT, ATS manifolds, fass 150, Afe, htt 64/71/14, turbo max intercooler, some cp3's, 90hp sticks, TST,,6" stack, Lorenz 2.5 suspension, Toyo MT, autometer,HTS full billet trans627Hp 1200+LBft
Nohel is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-16-2009, 03:20 AM
Gone Fishing!!
 
pro99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chesterfield, Mi
Posts: 3,069
Thanks: 162
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
You might have to be a licensed plummer with that kit

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-ORUDS0z3wd4/VNkJFC_gzwI/AAAAAAAAA9s/HcjNs3iMLTo/w1051-h831-no/15%2B-%2B3
pro99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome