TPS Sensor - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 1st Gen. Dodge Cummins 89-93 12V Forums > 89-93 Powertrain
89-93 Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2006, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
cumminsblue92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pflugerville/College Station, TX
Posts: 249
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
TPS Sensor

What exactly are the tell-tale signs of a bad TPS sensor. If I get on it hard, say on the interstate, it won't shift up into overdrive until its practically maxed out in RPM's. If I'm right and this is what I might need to look into replacing, where do you get them?
__________________
SOLD - 1992 2WD / A-518
yeah, it was slow
|HRVE|BHAF|HTT|BULLY DOG|MAGNAFLOW|ISSPRO|
cumminsblue92 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2006, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
Paccool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,548
Thanks: 9
Thanked 252 Times in 123 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Usually it starts dropping out of OD and then back into it randomly or won't shift at all. If it just waits to shift, adjust the nut that is on the output shaft just below the TPS sensor. Turn it counter clockwise a little and see if that helps. If that made it worse, go back the other way past your initial setpoint. (as you can tell, I can't remember which way to turn it!) I think it is a 10MM wrench. Don't be afraid to try this, can't hurt anything. Just make a mark where you start from so you can go back if needed.

You just reminded me of something I was going to do. I took the sensor off my truck and replaced it with a pot mounted in a small box on the dash. I can change the set point from inside the truck and the TPS problems went away with the sensor! :thumbsup I was going to dig out the instructions and post them for anyone that wanted to try it.
__________________
Stan

93 D250, PDR Twins HX35&HT3B, 60+# boost,PDR stage 2 head w/o-rings, PDR Cam, modified VE Pump, piston style lift pump, modified 5" intake w/AFE, ATS ported manifold,DTT 89% converter, 4" RIP exhaust, modified tranny, EGT/boost/tranny/tach gauges, TPS removed, a little chrome under the hood. Mag-Hitec tranny and diff. covers. Rear sway bar. Line-x bed liner, after market seats. Single stage Water/Meth system installed. Oversized intercooler w/3" IC lines.

05 Chevy 2500 HDcrew cab 4x4, Duramax W/Allison, 17" Hummer wheels w/285-70-17 BFG's, Banks intake, ported turbo mouthpiece. Predator programmer, Autometer EGT and boost gauges.

Last edited by Paccool; 05-12-2006 at 06:41 PM.
Paccool is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2006, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
cumminsblue92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pflugerville/College Station, TX
Posts: 249
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
sweet thanks alot paccool, I'll have to try that. Its a little annoying, considering its the only reason i lost the race to my brother. I had him all the way through the gears (he has a standard, mine auto) until i stopped accelerating while still in 3rd. He passed me and I bore the look of shame. Not for long, as his only tops out at 78 or so!
__________________
SOLD - 1992 2WD / A-518
yeah, it was slow
|HRVE|BHAF|HTT|BULLY DOG|MAGNAFLOW|ISSPRO|
cumminsblue92 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2006, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cummins Nut
 
mrmajestic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lititz, PA
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Check your voltage at the TPS. If it is not correct adjust it. If you can't adjust it the TPS is bad. The stealer-ship has them and they were $185 when I owned a '93. I put 3 or 4 on in 270K.
__________________
1999 2500 Quad Cab, 5spd, 4X4, 3.55 LSD, 152K miles, Buckstop w/9K winch, Torque King M/S, K&N FI Perf Kit, 275HP Inj., TST PM3/Smarty stack, PDR boots, Wabro/Areomotive and 1/2" line, PAC Brake w/SWAC, Summit Turbo back 4" pipe, EZ drain, silencer ring MIA, pyro/boost/FP gauges, SBC Con OFE w/HD Adj Hyd, Brite Box, DSS, Centramatics, BFG LT285/75R16/E
mrmajestic is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2010, 11:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
u do have one dont listen to him, and i believe its supposed to be around .3 and .9 volts but i'm not 100% sure.
and for cumnspwr, don't start saying stuff if you don't know anything about what your saying... i need to adjust mine now too, it shifts in and out of overdrive and is kinda scary when i'm drivin down the interstate at like 70-75 and it downshifts... i just don't wanna blow the original tranny with 250k on it...
the250guy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2010, 11:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Palmyra, Nebraska
Posts: 256
Thanks: 3
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Pedal at rest, remove the tps BRACKET from the AFC housing, with the TPS mounted to the bracket.
Verify that the hex on the TPS directly lines up with the hex on the throttle shaft by attempting to put the bracket back on WITHOUT RECLOCKING to get it to seat back down.
If you have to turn the bracket to get it to engage, you need to adjust the screw on the TPS until it sits down and lines up the bracket's bolt holes on the AFC housing, with no re-aligning.

Keep in mind, when you guys adjust the pumps and drop the idle screw clear back, as well as adjust the throttle linkage for full travel, the TPS NEEDS READJUSTED!

This also goes for any time you remove the nut on the throttle shaft during a spring change, or other maintenance that requires the throttle lever nut to be removed.

Mark.

Last edited by Mark Nixon; 09-08-2010 at 11:46 AM.
Mark Nixon is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mark Nixon For This Useful Post:
Dun More Dennis (04-26-2013), liftedtrucks (03-20-2014)
Old 12-06-2012, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
BC847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In an old school bus down by the river
Posts: 1,248
Thanks: 70
Thanked 265 Times in 189 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniell_10 View Post
The 12 valve cummins does not have a TPS. These started at 98.5 with the 24 valve.
Nice 1st post.

This IS the 1st gen forum board. Not sure why 2nd gen and later stuff is being discussed. None of it's applicable.


The 1st gen trucks (12v) running an automatic transmission indeed do have a Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) that is located on the top of the VE injection pump. It, combined with the PCM (reading other sensors), alters the Over-Drive shift-points.



__________________
David
Original owner of a plain'ol VE fueled '93 W250 ClubCab. Green

Last edited by BC847; 12-06-2012 at 11:06 PM.
BC847 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
This fix might not be for everyone but it worked for me when I was having TPS problems. I used a sharp knife and delicately scraped away the glue that holds the plastic plate onto the top of the TPS itself. Once the glue was removed I was able to again, delicately, pry that plastic cap off of the TPS and clean the inside of the mechanism out with electrical contact cleaner. I re-assmebled everything and used RTV to seal the cap onto the TPS, re-adjusted the voltage, and everything has functioned perfectly since.
Attached Thumbnails
TPS Sensor-getattachment.aspx.jpeg  
__________________
1992 W250 I/C, 170,000 miles. A518 auto recently rebuilt. Engine is bone stock. Skyjacker leveling kit, Toyo M55 Tires, all kinds of parts to freshen her up, but she's still just a work horse.
jonnyc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 536
Thanks: 6
Thanked 51 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I fixed mine by getting some DeOxit D5 into it through the tiny hole that the end of the return spring is in. Has been working perfectly since.

The DeOxit has vanquished many connector gremlins for me also.
j_martin is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2