Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1978 Crew Cab Build

25K views 139 replies 24 participants last post by  simplysmn 
#1 ·
I've been working on my crew cab for about 2 months now when I've had time. I've been meaning to start a build thread for a while so I'll get everything up to date today.

Here's how it sat when I picked it up. It had been sitting for around 7 years and the floor took a beating. After having a look at it I determined I'd only have to replace the front floor and i'd be on my way.

I got it home and gave it a good pressure wash

Started disassembling shortly after

Once the dash was removed I was able to have a closer look and realize the rust was worse than I thought. It had a bunch of pinholes along the front of the cab and also the cowls.

See less See more
#2 ·
Lucky for me Thrashingcows located an 89 w250 donor floor for me at the salvage yard. I hurried over there and cut away what I needed.

I also got it parked in the shop to start the real work

I got some front frame rails from a 4x4 (also from thrashincows :wink2:) and cut it out so I had 2 flat pieces to bolt onto my frame.

($20 later of cut of discs)

#3 ·
A couple days later I went back to the salvage yard and hammered off all the 4x4 parts I needed for the conversion. Took me 5 hours with a hammer and chisel (including breaks for whenever I mistook my hand for the chisel)
Cleaned up
And everything bolted on.

#5 ·
Next I got the cab removed so I could paint the floor and the frame. (just my dad and I got it removed.. I'll be asking for some more help when it goes back on:doh:)

And that's how it sits as of today.

#12 ·
Thanks guys :thumbsup:

Great work so far! Just curious why you didn't box the frame in though? Not that it's absolutely necessary. But it isn't too late yet either. I know I would, especially seeing as you have everything apart.

Armchair quarterbacking your build :D what do you do for a living? Fine work there.