Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Stock 2012 Cummins BILLOWS black smoke

22K views 25 replies 10 participants last post by  sepukacheekray 
#1 ·
I recently purchased a 2012 ram 2500 4x4 ST 6.7l cummins from auto auction. i got it cheap, but it billows black smoke when you accelerate. and not just a little. we're talking massive clouds here, enough to blind drivers behind you if you really get on it. at idle, it will puff barely visible clouds of black smoke. at idle when accelerator is first depressed, it bogs down for just a second and then takes off, as if its choking on too much fuel. i buy and sell trucks for a living, and this much smoke makes the truck unsalable. i am no diesel machanic, and what little i know i learned from poking around trucks or forums.

I began my diagnostics by cracking open the exhaust pipe between the cat and dpf to see if they'd been gutted. they are both intact. No check engine light currently. so i button her up and drive her for a few days to see if it'll throw codes.

a day later, it throws codes for cylinder 3 injector timing, EGR stuck and EGR cooler bypass dead. Checked the EGR and cooler bypass with my snap on MODUS ultra scanner. 0 communication with the egr bypass cooler, EGR out of performance. Slap on reman EGR, used EGR cooler bypass and a reman injector in cylinder 3. egr now functions as does bypass cooler. road test, and it still blows just as much black smoke out the back as before. the injector in cylinder 3 was reman as well, so I'm assuming the dealer who had it before me tried to fix it up before dumping it in auction. no check engine light has come back on yet.

I don't know if this truck has a tune on it, but when i got it, it didn't have a tuner or any sign that one had been there.

Some things that i have noticed:
1. at idle the egr cooler bypass valve will switch from open and then closed about every two seconds.