Cam Position Sensor. - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 3rd Gen. Dodge Cummins 03-07 Common Rail Forums > 3rd Gen. Powertrain
3rd Gen. Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 06:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Cam Position Sensor.

Ok found out that my cam position sensor is bad. I have had the wires checked and they are said to be good. To save some money i am wanting to do the change myself. I looked for a how to but cant seem to find one. Can anyone tell me where the sensor is that i am needing to replace and if its just a simple change out or more. Any help would be greatly apprecitated.
__________________
2005 Dodge 2500 4X4 5.9 Liter cummins with a 6 Speed transmission. Stock except for cosmetics and a straight pipe exhaust.
rdaviemt is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to rdaviemt For This Useful Post:
bhdodge (01-03-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2013, 08:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
triton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 14
Thanked 414 Times in 324 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
triton is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to triton For This Useful Post:
bhdodge (01-03-2013), rdaviemt (01-02-2013)
Old 01-02-2013, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Appreciate the help, very useful video and thanks for the help !!!
__________________
2005 Dodge 2500 4X4 5.9 Liter cummins with a 6 Speed transmission. Stock except for cosmetics and a straight pipe exhaust.
rdaviemt is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 09:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
DieselTech77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central, Il
Posts: 578
Thanks: 23
Thanked 53 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You can find a how to on ALMOST anything known to man on youtube! I've looked there several times for disassembling some of my semi-auto handguns for cleaning.
__________________
2007 Dodge 2500 5.9L CUMMINS 4X4 Silver QCSB-Stage 2 48RE Built By Aaron Finley @ Forward Motion-S&B CAI-HTT 62/12-MBRP 5" TBE-AD2 DF100- EXERGY 60%'s-Smarty S06-Edge CTS-RDR Dirt 18X9/Cooper Zeon LTZ-Overhaul Complete 7/7/13 @195,529 miles
DieselTech77 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
05CumminsDrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 12
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Cam Sensor

One caution from my personal experience:

Make sure it really is a bad sensor. Mine turned out not to be. It threw the code because of an interference signal created by the tach wire running to my remote start. I unplugged the wire and it resolved the issue. I just need to insulate that wire if I plug it back in.
05CumminsDrew is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 02:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
bhdodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: East Palestine, OH
Posts: 273
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks I have the same code and posted about it a couple times and never got a response thanks guys good info.
__________________
06 2500, 4x4, CTD, Crew Cab, short bed, silencer ring mia, removed the baffels in the intake, 5" straight pipe, Edge w/ Attitude Hot unlock, Mostly billet Trans, Leveled 2, 315/70-17 hankook Dynapro
bhdodge is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2