pcm fuse - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 3rd Gen. Dodge Cummins 03-07 Common Rail Forums > 3rd Gen. Powertrain
3rd Gen. Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2011, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: saskatchewan
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
pcm fuse

Hey just got a couple of questions on pcm fuse. I started truck after having to boost it, and drove it into shop shut truck off and put new batteries in the truck and went to start it and would crank over and not start acting as if it were getting no fuel, flipped key off and on and noticed lift pump would not cylce. Opened up fuse box and diesel pcm fuse blown, i replaced fuse but would blow again instantly. Anybody have any ideas.

It is a 2006 3500 and has a smarty chip.
__________________
06 ram 3500, smarty, silencer ring , nottin but str8 pipe, recon lights, 35' mudders
98 ram 2500 24v, some exterior stuff, silencer ring, fass, edge juice, str8 pipe, cold air
codybeckstead is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2011, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
TECH SPECIALIST
 
steelhead01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,137
Thanks: 365
Thanked 829 Times in 682 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
pull plugs off ECM
put in new PCM fuse.

if she blows== toasted wiring loom or ECM
__________________
Funniest question&response on here
AH64ID: Is your kitty in place?
TONASKET:You callin me a *****???
steelhead01 is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to steelhead01 For This Useful Post:
codybeckstead (02-14-2011)
Old 02-14-2011, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: saskatchewan
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Where abouts is this ecm plug, right behind the fuel rail?? Thanks for the help.
__________________
06 ram 3500, smarty, silencer ring , nottin but str8 pipe, recon lights, 35' mudders
98 ram 2500 24v, some exterior stuff, silencer ring, fass, edge juice, str8 pipe, cold air
codybeckstead is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
CumminsGift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 721
Thanks: 129
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Im having the same problem.... Did yall solve this problem????

Bump
__________________
SOLD "Silver Fox"- Mega 3500 4x4 Custom - Smarty, 5" TBE, AMP Steps, 22's
2012 "Project White-Out" Dmax LML 4x4 CCSB
CumminsGift is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
mkwelds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Desert, CA
Posts: 1,929
Thanks: 207
Thanked 200 Times in 184 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Ecm is on the driver side of the engine has two big plugs goin into it takes a 5mm allen to unplug them.
__________________
2004.5 3500 4x4 NV5600, PDR Cam, ARP 425s, industrial injection 60 horse injectors, Raptor 100 fuel pump, DIY 2micron fuel filter system with big line upgrade, HE351 over S475,more brewing SMARTY S06 and UDC fine tuning all of it
mkwelds is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to mkwelds For This Useful Post:
CumminsGift (07-26-2011)
Old 07-26-2011, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
CumminsGift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 721
Thanks: 129
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
So just unplug those and put a new fuse in?
__________________
SOLD "Silver Fox"- Mega 3500 4x4 Custom - Smarty, 5" TBE, AMP Steps, 22's
2012 "Project White-Out" Dmax LML 4x4 CCSB
CumminsGift is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 04:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
mkwelds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Desert, CA
Posts: 1,929
Thanks: 207
Thanked 200 Times in 184 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Then plug them back in and see what happens. Its either bad wiring or a bad Ecm if it blows the fuse. If so start checkin ur wires for chaffing and bad or dirty connections if no luck there probably new Ecm is needed.
__________________
2004.5 3500 4x4 NV5600, PDR Cam, ARP 425s, industrial injection 60 horse injectors, Raptor 100 fuel pump, DIY 2micron fuel filter system with big line upgrade, HE351 over S475,more brewing SMARTY S06 and UDC fine tuning all of it
mkwelds is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to mkwelds For This Useful Post:
CumminsGift (07-26-2011)
Old 07-26-2011, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
CumminsGift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 721
Thanks: 129
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
So there is no such thing as a bad PCM???? Since u said tha tif I blow the fuse again it may be a bad ECM
__________________
SOLD "Silver Fox"- Mega 3500 4x4 Custom - Smarty, 5" TBE, AMP Steps, 22's
2012 "Project White-Out" Dmax LML 4x4 CCSB
CumminsGift is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
CumminsGift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 721
Thanks: 129
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Do I need to leave the conections unplugged for a specific amount of time?
__________________
SOLD "Silver Fox"- Mega 3500 4x4 Custom - Smarty, 5" TBE, AMP Steps, 22's
2012 "Project White-Out" Dmax LML 4x4 CCSB
CumminsGift is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 04:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
mkwelds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Desert, CA
Posts: 1,929
Thanks: 207
Thanked 200 Times in 184 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Just unplug them and replace the fuse then plug them back in on these trucks literary everything one way or another goes through the Ecm. Now it could be ur fuse box is shorted out some where that's kinda common on these also.
__________________
2004.5 3500 4x4 NV5600, PDR Cam, ARP 425s, industrial injection 60 horse injectors, Raptor 100 fuel pump, DIY 2micron fuel filter system with big line upgrade, HE351 over S475,more brewing SMARTY S06 and UDC fine tuning all of it

Last edited by mkwelds; 07-26-2011 at 04:29 PM.
mkwelds is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to mkwelds For This Useful Post:
CumminsGift (07-26-2011)
Old 07-26-2011, 04:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
CumminsGift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 721
Thanks: 129
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Got some info....

I disconected the PCM main lines.... and put a fuse in. DID NOT BLOW!!!! Thats where we are... I have a feeling it is my AMP steps... Ill keep updating yall.

Let me know if yall have any ideas
__________________
SOLD "Silver Fox"- Mega 3500 4x4 Custom - Smarty, 5" TBE, AMP Steps, 22's
2012 "Project White-Out" Dmax LML 4x4 CCSB
CumminsGift is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 04:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
CumminsGift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 721
Thanks: 129
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkwelds View Post
Just unplug them and replace the fuse then plug them back in on these trucks literary everything one way or another goes through the Ecm. Now it could be ur fuse box is shorted out some where that's kinda common on these also.
What u think, after reading my most recient post below.....
__________________
SOLD "Silver Fox"- Mega 3500 4x4 Custom - Smarty, 5" TBE, AMP Steps, 22's
2012 "Project White-Out" Dmax LML 4x4 CCSB
CumminsGift is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2