does a used ecm need to be flashed? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
3rd Gen. Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-21-2010, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
does a used ecm need to be flashed?

05 ram cummins does the ecm, brain, when replaced with a used one from
another truck need to be flashed/programed at the dealership?

bigbuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-21-2010, 09:34 PM
Cummins Fan
JIM KAZ's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: COATS, NC
Posts: 68
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes. The ECM does need to be flashed do to each ECM has vin# and miles for that vehicle programed in.

2006 2500 Mega Cab 4x4 SLT 5.9L HO Cummins w/ 3.73 Rear, Auto. 5" Turbo Back exhaust (FBD) Isspro Guages, Pyro,Tranny Temp.,Boost, Pillar Mount, Quadzilla Xzillaraider 2. Byrd's Preformance intake, Mag-Hytec 727-DD Transmission Pan, Silencer ring MIA
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JIM KAZ is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-22-2010, 09:40 AM
Diesel Freak
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 588
Thanks: 2
Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Be careful here. I'm not sure on a DRB or Starscan (dodge scan tool), but with a snap-on, or other "generic" passthrough reprogrammer, lots of chrysler pcm's are locked to a vin. Once programmed to a vehicle, thats it, no more. All you can do is reflash for updates, but has to remain with that vehicle. Dodge might be able to reset them, but I would make sure on your particular year model before you purchase the computer.

But to answer your question. IF they can reset the vin, then yes it will have to be reflashed to work on your truck
07mega_cab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome