does a used ecm need to be flashed? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 3rd Gen. Dodge Cummins 03-07 Common Rail Forums > 3rd Gen. Powertrain
3rd Gen. Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2010, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
does a used ecm need to be flashed?

05 ram cummins does the ecm, brain, when replaced with a used one from
another truck need to be flashed/programed at the dealership?
bigbuck is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2010, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
JIM KAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: COATS, NC
Posts: 68
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes. The ECM does need to be flashed do to each ECM has vin# and miles for that vehicle programed in.
__________________
2006 2500 Mega Cab 4x4 SLT 5.9L HO Cummins w/ 3.73 Rear, Auto. 5" Turbo Back exhaust (FBD) Isspro Guages, Pyro,Tranny Temp.,Boost, Pillar Mount, Quadzilla Xzillaraider 2. Byrd's Preformance intake, Mag-Hytec 727-DD Transmission Pan, Silencer ring MIA
JIM KAZ is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2010, 09:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 588
Thanks: 2
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Be careful here. I'm not sure on a DRB or Starscan (dodge scan tool), but with a snap-on, or other "generic" passthrough reprogrammer, lots of chrysler pcm's are locked to a vin. Once programmed to a vehicle, thats it, no more. All you can do is reflash for updates, but has to remain with that vehicle. Dodge might be able to reset them, but I would make sure on your particular year model before you purchase the computer.

But to answer your question. IF they can reset the vin, then yes it will have to be reflashed to work on your truck
07mega_cab is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2