Thinking about buying - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
3rd Gen. Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect...NO ADVERTISING

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 07:24 AM Thread Starter

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thinking about buying

A coworker is looking to sell his 2005 Cummins. He is asking 10k. It has 215k miles. Never any heavy pulling. Factory injectors and tubes, tranny has never been touched. Ball joints, tie rods have been changed. It does have some steering slop, thinking it needs a steering box.
I'm new to diesels, not real knowledgeable on them. My question is, when I go look at the truck, what are things that I should watch out for? Any red flags, or any other suggestions you may have?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 07:25 AM Thread Starter

Add--automatic transmission.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 10:14 AM
Cummins Nut

Ideally a cold start to see if there's a long crank and/or white smoke, once running and warmed up pull off the oil fill cap and check for excessive blow by, check for rough running. How many miles, quad cab, 4wd? That's a pretty good price.

2004.5 2wd RCSB, auto, 3.73, BMS 100 injectors, Fleece cheetah Holset, Hptuning by Firepunk, Goerend triple disc, Fleece stroker CP3, FASS 150, 295,000 miles and counting. Best ET to date 12.0@113mph (with smarty tuning)

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-21-2017, 11:17 AM
Cummins Fanatic

Steering slop will be typical on most used trucks of that age. Like stated above, check for cold start issue and blow by. 10K is a really good price. Injectors have a lot of miles on them but there's guys on here who have over 300,000 on stock sticks, so take it how you want. Doesn't sound like i'd be afraid of this truck.