Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Trouble Rebuilding NV5600

4K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  CJGuy 
#1 ·
Hi folks,
I'm halfway through my rebuild and have hit a substantial road block. I have the mainshaft out and the input shaft bearing came off rather easily. However, the rear bearing in this transmission exploded, and I am having a hell of a time getting the inner race off.

This is where I am at, as you can see I've used a burr on a die grinder to cut a track pretty much right down to the bottom. There is a similar cut 180 degrees on the other side. This thing will not come off. It's been heated, hammered, chiseled, in the press, heated again, air hammered, pressed again, I've got 4 hours into this one race.

I am a mechanic by trade and have done a few transmissions of the Fuller variety, but I've never had a part so stubborn. I'm pretty sure the surface of the mainshaft is now screwed anyway, but have any of you got over this obstacle in your rebuilds?

At this point I'm wondering if the race was spinning on the shaft and has friction welded itself together. Any help is greatly appreciated

See less See more
#2 ·
What I would do, and do all the time with getting races off shafts, is just take the torch and cut it off. You can actually cut right through the race without putting a scratch in the shaft, if you know how to do it.

#3 ·
RJF, I've cut through the one side with the torch, but the remainder seems quite seized on there. It's stood up to incredible abuse this far

#4 ·