Cummins Diesel Forum banner

recommended for 500hp

6K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Move'n Up 
#1 ·
Hey all I have a stock 06 5.9. 600hp built tranny and EFI live with a 95gph fass fuel system. I don't wish to go over 500 maybe 550. Im thinking the stock turbo will not hold out much longer. Looking for anyones thoughts or opinions on what to do or upgrade. Any advice is really appreciated. I know there're tons of threads on here and to be honest I'm not good at using forums. Thanks

#3 ·
You're already around 500 HP. A 2nd gen manifold won't be any benefit. If you want a little upgrade, look into the SXE 62 turbo.

#5 ·
There is no standard answer as to what is the best way to go about 500-550hp in my opinion due to the different things people use their trucks for. As these guys have all pointed out, 500hp can be achieved with a stock truck and a good tune, however this is not the best way in every situation. If you daily drive your truck and don't tow heavy or often, then you are at a decent place, however if you tow very much or want to widen your power band, there are things you can do. Steed Speed manifolds are proven to increase low rpm power significantly as compared to stock 3rd gen manifolds, thus giving you more "usable" power. An sx-e 363 would spool nicely and cool off egts in the upper rpm range while still maintaining nice towing characteristics (362sx-e was mentioned in an earlier post, but I don't think it is offered with 71mm turbine, which is the one you want). Bigger injectors (50-100hp) could bump up fuel mileage slightly when tuned properly, while also adding some low end power and greater top end potential and cool off egts by shortening the injection event. A turbo blanket will help you spool up a few rpms sooner and keep under hood temps lower. Water/meth can cool down egts while bumping up mpgs and power. It really all comes down to how you use the truck, how much you want to spend, and what future goals may become.

#6 ·