Bully Dog VIN Change To New Owner - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
3rd Gen. Performance Parts Discussion Discussion of Performance Parts For the 3rd Gen Trucks No Advertising ...NO ADVERTISING

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 12-06-2008, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Bully Dog VIN Change To New Owner

Hello All,

I just purchased a used Triple Dog with Outlook combo. The previous owner did not go back to stock so I am locked out on my truck (VIN mismatch). BD charges $100 to reset. Anyway around this ? There was a contact person at BD on a thread I read awhile back that would maybe reset for free ?
Any advice is greatly appreciated.


2005 Ram 2500 Quad. MBRP Cat back dual exh, Willy's Whistler 6" Stg 1 intake.
fritzjd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 08:42 AM
Diesel Freak
 
fxwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 866
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That sucks man. I would say you are going to have to pay for a reset or find the truck it goes to and get the program back.

04.5 2500 4wd, 6 speed, 3.73 gears Mods: 4" Superlift, 315/70/17 BFG A/T's, Silencer MIA, Thuren track bar, diPricol boost, egt, and fp gauges, Crazy Larry 330hp/620tq
<----- Getting a 12 valve when I get cash.
fxwannabe is offline  
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 03:00 PM
Diesel Head
 
macko300exc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 234
Thanked 530 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
try to update the bully dog

04.5 Silver 3500 Quad Cab, Long Bed, Dually, 4X4, NV 5600, Intake Horn, Bully Dog Triple Dog, High Idle, FASS 150/150And A MANIAC Behind The Wheel!
macko300exc is offline  
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 10:26 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Can you give some details ?

2005 Ram 2500 Quad. MBRP Cat back dual exh, Willy's Whistler 6" Stg 1 intake.
fritzjd is offline  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 11:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Update will not work using bullydog updater. Tried helping a cousin in the same boat and tried update to newer software version & kept getting prompted to return dowloader (Truck) back to stock. If there are any more suggestions, I would like to know also.

2005, 3500, DRW, 4X4, Auto 3.73, Goerend (Torq, valve body, input, flexplate), RP-150, Arson 3, AFE #2, Blade runner, Mod stock turbo, Smarty Revo, Edge EZ, BD Boost fooler, GDP 2 mic.
silvafoster is offline  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-23-2009, 10:14 PM
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Loco Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 202
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You guys figure this out? I am in same boat....can they reset it over the internet or do you have to send them in?

Welding Rig: 02 3500 DRW QC 4x4 6spd
Southbend single disk, Fass HPFP, CAI, Magnaflow 4" TBE, Banks High Ram Intake, Banks WG, EJWA, Snow Performance Stage II, RV275 injectors
Loco Cummins is offline  
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-23-2009, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey Loco,

Did get it figured out. The guy that sold it to me called up Bully Dog. He got hold of some jerk that was rude and would not help him out unless he paid the $100 dollars to get the unit re-set. He then called back to complain and another guy at BD (can not remember his name ) said "sure" he would help out and told him to have me call him. I called and he gave me a password that I input into the programmer and then walked me through a few steps and it was fixed. Great guy. Wished I could remember his name to tell you. Basically the guy who sold me the unit had not re-set the tire size and that was keeping the programmer locked to his vehicle vin. My advice would be to call BD and ask for help. Keep calling until you get hold of someone that has a customer service attitude. Hope this helps. I do not understand why they would charge $100 when it took all of 3 minutes to help me. Love the power...

2005 Ram 2500 Quad. MBRP Cat back dual exh, Willy's Whistler 6" Stg 1 intake.
fritzjd is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-23-2009, 11:16 PM
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Loco Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 202
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Fritzjd thanks man! I also called one time and they told me about the $100 thing. I knew they could fix it if they really wanted to.

Have you any problems with yours? I hear several people have had problems with the bully dog stuff.

Welding Rig: 02 3500 DRW QC 4x4 6spd
Southbend single disk, Fass HPFP, CAI, Magnaflow 4" TBE, Banks High Ram Intake, Banks WG, EJWA, Snow Performance Stage II, RV275 injectors
Loco Cummins is offline  
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-23-2009, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I've got about 5000 miles on it and not a problem to be seen. I had a bad wire on the waste gate solenoid on the truck. Fixed it and then re-set the code with the programmer. Worked great. I have it on Crazy Larry (previous owner had down loaded it I guess) and it is hard to not put your foot into it. I don't think I could go back to stock ever. Picked up close to 2 miles per gallon as well. Most of the problems I have read about is when people try to stack the BD with another programmer.
I am new to this but seems like alot of people are trying some crazy stuff to get every HP they can and are having problems.

2005 Ram 2500 Quad. MBRP Cat back dual exh, Willy's Whistler 6" Stg 1 intake.
fritzjd is offline  
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-23-2009, 11:39 PM
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Loco Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 202
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I guess you're right about everyone stacking. I don't have the mods to do the stacking. I just want more throttle and power. Not going to be pulling the sled or running down the strip. I would like to get the most millage available of course. Thanks for the info

Welding Rig: 02 3500 DRW QC 4x4 6spd
Southbend single disk, Fass HPFP, CAI, Magnaflow 4" TBE, Banks High Ram Intake, Banks WG, EJWA, Snow Performance Stage II, RV275 injectors
Loco Cummins is offline  
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-24-2009, 12:05 AM
Diesel Head
 
Nickscott89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bremen, IN
Posts: 2,241
Thanks: 440
Thanked 230 Times in 147 Posts
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
I had bought one that was vin locked so I called and they told me it would cost $100 to unlock it, I just figured I would give it another shot and called a couple days later and got a guy that unlocked it for free. He told me they are allowed to unlock one free but only one time only.

2002 6 speed HO, Edge Juice, Raptor 150,200hp JL Machine injectors,AFE Intake, FB 5" straight pipe, SB DD 3250, and other goodies!!!!!
2000 5 speed 3500,edge,150's,dd3250 etc...
Nickscott89 is offline  
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-24-2009, 12:39 AM
Cummins Nut
 
DODGETHEBULLET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CUT-N-SHOOT, TEXAS
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzjd View Post
Hey Loco,

Did get it figured out. The guy that sold it to me called up Bully Dog. He got hold of some jerk that was rude and would not help him out unless he paid the $100 dollars to get the unit re-set. He then called back to complain and another guy at BD (can not remember his name ) said "sure" he would help out and told him to have me call him. I called and he gave me a password that I input into the programmer and then walked me through a few steps and it was fixed. Great guy. Wished I could remember his name to tell you. Basically the guy who sold me the unit had not re-set the tire size and that was keeping the programmer locked to his vehicle vin. My advice would be to call BD and ask for help. Keep calling until you get hold of someone that has a customer service attitude. Hope this helps. I do not understand why they would charge $100 when it took all of 3 minutes to help me. Love the power...
Do you remember the code ... It should be the same one on all BDTD I think.. Pass it along to LOCO to see if it works.

POWERED BY RELENTLESS DIESEL !!!!!
DODGETHEBULLET is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome