Torque App Android - Transmission Temp - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain Discussion of 3rd Gen Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
KCT
Cummins Fanatic
 
KCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Torque App Android - Transmission Temp

I've been searching the forums (as well as the Torque forum) but haven't found anyone who's been able to get the Tranny temp to register.

Has anyone had any luck getting transmission temperature on the Torque Android app? Any luck with getting the custom PID's? I know our trucks monitor this, it's just a matter of getting it out of the OBDII.

Thanks


2015 Ram 3500 Mega Cab Laramie SRW w/ Aisin
Sold: 2004.5 Quad Cab 4x4 - 48re to g56 swap
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Michelin A/T 315x70x17, Silencer Ring Missing, 3.73, Leveling Kit, Edge w/Attitude (30104), Pacbrake exhaust brake.
KCT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 02:17 PM
Diesel Head
 
pjesson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,201
Thanks: 151
Thanked 132 Times in 103 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It is there because my Edge Juice w/ Attitude reports tranny temp and the only place it gets it is from the OBDII

2007.5 Mega - MP-8, Edge, ISSPro Guages, Gooseneck, airbags, OBA, lighting by KC and Hella front & back
pjesson is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
KCT
Cummins Fanatic
 
KCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Update: Was able to get Trans Temp to read. In the custom OBD2 PIDs screen, I added the predefined set "other". This gave me a "Transmission Temperature (Method 3)" option which I added to my gauges screen.

Question - does anyone know if this is accurate? I've plugged in all the info for my truck (via settings). I drove the truck for about 30min on the highway unloaded (outside temp is about 80). Truck sat for about an hour. I started it and idled in park for about 5 min, playing around with the Torque app. Original temp on the torque app after sitting and 5 min idle was 158, when I shut it down it was registering 172 (after about 5min in park).

Question 2: Still can't get rail pressure to read. I plugged in the following to custom PIDs that I found on another thread:
ODB PID = 0123
Long name = Rail Pressure
Short name = Rail
Minimum value = 0
Maximum value = 30
scale factor = x1
Unit type = 1K
Equation = (((A*256)+ B)* 10) / 6894.76

Thanks
KT

2015 Ram 3500 Mega Cab Laramie SRW w/ Aisin
Sold: 2004.5 Quad Cab 4x4 - 48re to g56 swap
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Michelin A/T 315x70x17, Silencer Ring Missing, 3.73, Leveling Kit, Edge w/Attitude (30104), Pacbrake exhaust brake.
KCT is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-14-2012, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
KCT
Cummins Fanatic
 
KCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Alright figured out that the Trans Temp listed above is really reading coolant temp.

Anyone had luck reading tranny temp and rail pressure?? Anyone??

2015 Ram 3500 Mega Cab Laramie SRW w/ Aisin
Sold: 2004.5 Quad Cab 4x4 - 48re to g56 swap
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Michelin A/T 315x70x17, Silencer Ring Missing, 3.73, Leveling Kit, Edge w/Attitude (30104), Pacbrake exhaust brake.
KCT is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-18-2012, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
KCT
Cummins Fanatic
 
KCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Bump..... Anyone had luck with Trans Temp and Rail Pressure with Torque?

2015 Ram 3500 Mega Cab Laramie SRW w/ Aisin
Sold: 2004.5 Quad Cab 4x4 - 48re to g56 swap
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Michelin A/T 315x70x17, Silencer Ring Missing, 3.73, Leveling Kit, Edge w/Attitude (30104), Pacbrake exhaust brake.
KCT is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 04:42 AM
Diesel Freak
 
06speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 645
Thanks: 96
Thanked 67 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The Torque app has a rail pressure PID already in it. That's the one I use. Although i have entered the custom PID like you have there for rail pressure and it worked as well. I have not gotten the trans temp to read on my cousin's 05 auto. I have a manual.

'06 2500 4x4 QC, G56(MD-50wt)-ValAir Dual Disc, Jacobs ex.brk, crazy larry, Firestone ride-rite bags, Baldwin f/w sep + Cat 2mic filter, EV2-lift,rail,EGT,boost, MBRP 5" w/muff, OEM intake w/Banks Scoop
06speed is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 11:49 AM
Cummins Fanatic
 
ChucktownJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston
Posts: 118
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Anyone using an old 1st Gen Android? Will it work? My wife has an old one sitting in the drawer. We both have iphones now and the torque app looks better than apps for the iphones.

'04.5 QCSB 4x4 Laramie, XRF, Muff Delete, Suspension Maxx Links
'85 300TD
A couple old Chevy's in pieces...
ChucktownJohn is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
KCT
Cummins Fanatic
 
KCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06speed View Post
The Torque app has a rail pressure PID already in it. That's the one I use. Although i have entered the custom PID like you have there for rail pressure and it worked as well. I have not gotten the trans temp to read on my cousin's 05 auto. I have a manual.
I wonder if the PID's are just different in 2004.5? I can get either to work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChucktownJohn View Post
Anyone using an old 1st Gen Android? Will it work? My wife has an old one sitting in the drawer. We both have iphones now and the torque app looks better than apps for the iphones.
I have a Droid 2

2015 Ram 3500 Mega Cab Laramie SRW w/ Aisin
Sold: 2004.5 Quad Cab 4x4 - 48re to g56 swap
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Michelin A/T 315x70x17, Silencer Ring Missing, 3.73, Leveling Kit, Edge w/Attitude (30104), Pacbrake exhaust brake.
KCT is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 01:08 PM
Cummins Nut
 
Gen-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: C/NePA
Posts: 463
Thanks: 82
Thanked 74 Times in 60 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
What bluetooth obd2 are you guys using I'm going to order one since I can't find any locally?

'06 GTX3582r hiding under 2 GT3582r
14 Jeep GC ecodiesel
Gen-X is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
KCT
Cummins Fanatic
 
KCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen-X View Post
What bluetooth obd2 are you guys using I'm going to order one since I can't find any locally?
I bought this one (not at this store): ELM327 OBDII Bluetooth Diagnostic Interface Transceiver Adapter For Car Short / Long Term Fuel Trim - ELM327-Diagnostic-Transceiver

Imagestore - ELM327 OBDII Bluetooth Diagnostic Interface Transceiver Adapter For Car Short / Long Term Fuel Trim

I think I got it for less than $20 delivered.

2015 Ram 3500 Mega Cab Laramie SRW w/ Aisin
Sold: 2004.5 Quad Cab 4x4 - 48re to g56 swap
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Michelin A/T 315x70x17, Silencer Ring Missing, 3.73, Leveling Kit, Edge w/Attitude (30104), Pacbrake exhaust brake.
KCT is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 04:01 PM
Cummins Nut
 
Thunder Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 307
Thanks: 7
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I don't think there is a provision for tranny temp on your year. I have an 05 and there just isn't one. I went with an aftermarket gauge and sender.

2005 3500 Laramie 4x4, Edge Juice with Attitude with "Hot" unlock, Edge Ez, Devils Own H2O injection, FS2500 Oil Bypass Filter, BD aux lift pump, BD Transmission controler, Transmission bulit by J&G Transmission, Bully Dog rfi intake, Banks Monster exaust, MBRP cat delete, DJ motorsports grill, Superlift 6" lift, Toyo 37x13.50x18, 18x10 RBP Wheels,Enkay mud flaps, Weekend on the Edge 2008 Winner in open class!!
Thunder Beast is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-19-2012, 09:05 PM
Diesel Head
 
hillbilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 10
Thanked 147 Times in 140 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
scanguage has trans temp and rail pressure listed on their site as confirmed for their reader so you have to be able to pull it off someway, just have to find the right commands for torque.

Dodge Specific : Linear Logic : Home of the ScanGauge

2014 Ecodiesel CrewCab
2007 5.9 MEGAcab w/Edge Evolution--Sold
USAF
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hillbilli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome