A good way to check alternator? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain Discussion of 3rd Gen Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Thanks: 14
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
A good way to check alternator?

My truck is a 2006 with original batteries and lately has been taking longer to turn over. Now, the batteries barely have enough charge to turn the engine over.

So I'm thinking it's the batteries, but i wanted to check the alternator first. I used to disconnect the battery with the car running. If the car stayed running then you knew your alternator was good. If I do this to my truck will I damage the computer or something? I've read on some cars you're not supposed to do that. So has anyone tried this old trick or do you have a better way to check the alternator? I don't trust o-riely or autozone as they usually get it wrong.

Thanks.


2006 Ram 2500 CTD QC 4x4 3.73 Auto
CAR67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 07:34 AM
i90 in NY
 
bulldogbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lowville NY
Posts: 3,617
Thanks: 151
Thanked 619 Times in 338 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Take a LONG screwdriver, while its running and lay the metal part across the pulley face and if the Alt is creating Voltage it will attract the metal shaft to the pulley because its a magnetic field.

2010 6 wheeler, 4x4, 4th gen factory matched gauges (Boost, Trans, Egt) Parts waiting to get installed once it warms up, S467, Steed Speed, BD EB, A1H11 Studs and some sort of tune
bulldogbones is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 09:13 AM
Cummins Nut
 
asedillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque,New Mexico
Posts: 313
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just put a voltage meter at the batt cables the Alt should be putting out 14.5 volts to the Batteries.

2004.5 2500 S&B Intake 6 Speed,Edge w/Attitude, AirDog 150, Dimond Eye 4" Turbo Back, silencer ring Silenced, More To Come
asedillo is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 09:22 AM
Diesel Head
 
Tom Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 39
Thanked 143 Times in 106 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAR67 View Post
My truck is a 2006 with original batteries and lately has been taking longer to turn over. Now, the batteries barely have enough charge to turn the engine over.

So I'm thinking it's the batteries, but i wanted to check the alternator first. I used to disconnect the battery with the car running. If the car stayed running then you knew your alternator was good. If I do this to my truck will I damage the computer or something? I've read on some cars you're not supposed to do that. So has anyone tried this old trick or do you have a better way to check the alternator? I don't trust o-riely or autozone as they usually get it wrong.

Thanks.

IMO you have a battery or batteries going out. I would not suggest pulling the cables while running, the voltage might rise fast and mess something expensive up. It not worth the risk IMO!

I'd check the voltage after it's been running for a few minutes. It should be ~13.6-14.2 volts. If you are in this range the alt is charging.
Tom Diesel is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 09:26 AM
Diesel Freak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 588
Thanks: 2
Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
+1 on volt meter. You can pick them up real cheap at places like walmart. Pulling the cables won't work as well on a diesel since theres no spark. You would have to pull them and wait long enough for the battery to go dead enough that the computer couldn't "think" any more to fire the injectors. That slow drop in voltage could be bad for it.
07mega_cab is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 11:06 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Thanks: 14
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys, I appreciate it. I do have a voltmeter, so I will try that.

Thanks again.

2006 Ram 2500 CTD QC 4x4 3.73 Auto
CAR67 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 08:11 PM
Diesel Head
 
lmeyer9916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brownfield, Texas
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 113
Thanked 169 Times in 135 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Also, while you have the meter on there, check for AC voltage. Anything over 0.3 volts AC is a sign of the diodes in the alternator failing.

03 2500, 6 spd, 4x4, leveled, 315-70R-17's, BHAF, A-1 studs, Hamilton 181/210, SMARTY, Amsoil bypass,ATS exh man., Fluidampr, Airdog, 09 steering, KC's on top, DDP 50HP Inj's, Garrett Stg 2, Jake Brake, OASIS XD4000, 10 gals of tanks, shocker XL's
lmeyer9916 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2010, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Thanks: 14
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Short story: I think it was dirty battery terminals

Long story: see below
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I had to get a jump to get the truck started. I checked the voltage with a meter, just like y'all suggested. Got 14.25. I also had two codes in, one said intermitant power to the ECM. Cleared the codes.

I then drove around to see if the batteries would take some charge. Came back home, turned it off, then back on. It seemed that they did take a bit of charge because the engine turned right over.

So shut it down. Cleaned the cable terminals. The passenger side had a bit of corrosion, but nothing you could see with the terminal on the post. I sprayed some terminal lubricant on them. Took another drive, this time with my code reader on. It also read 14.2 - 14.5 volts, even with bright lights on, interior lights on, voltage never dropped below 14.2

So I think my problem was just dirty terminals, even though they sure didn't look dirty. My budget is really tight right now. Most times, i would just go ahead and get new batteries, especially since they are probably running on borrowed time, but right now, i gotta save where I can.

Thanks again to all those who replyed.

2006 Ram 2500 CTD QC 4x4 3.73 Auto
CAR67 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Any good shop will be able to load test your batteries with a carbon pile type machine and evaluate your alternater output with the same tester.Some may even do it for free. The DVOM voltage test doesn't really tell the whole story.
ctime is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 10:01 PM
Gear Nerd
 
TX_Dj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas, Plano
Posts: 1,929
Thanks: 117
Thanked 242 Times in 209 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Another thing to do would be to actually put your batteries on a charger and let them take a charge... charge them separately (disconnected from the truck) and then let them sit off the charger overnight.

Their voltage alone will tell you their health at that point.



Keep in mind, the above is only applicable after they've had time to sit at rest with no additional charge or discharge after the charger indicates they are fully charged.

2007 3500 MC DRW 4x4 5.9L (122k mi)
G56 / SBC SDD3250
aFe Stg 2 / Pusher / GH Delete / FTE 5" TBE
AirDog II DF-165 (P551315/BF1275) / GDP Canister Delete / Bosch 505 - Stock Tips (Replaced @ 112,381 mi)
Autometer / JVC / Polk Audio
Best Tanks: 16.6 towing / 23.92 unloaded hwy / 23.2 city
TX_Dj is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 11:28 PM
Diesel Head
 
03 Rammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 2,613
Thanks: 180
Thanked 249 Times in 186 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Take it to AutoZone etc and they should be able to test it for you.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 Silver Laramie 4x4 My Useful Threads: How To: Make HIDS work w/ Resistors, How To: Tint your Tails, Weak Hood Shocks???
HID QUESTIONS YOU ASK....ASK
03 Rammer is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-18-2010, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 376
Thanks: 14
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
This is just a follow up....

My truck did not want to start this past Thursday, so that's about 3 weeks since I reported the problem.

The oem batteries both had bulged sides, i'm sure not normal, but not sure what that means either. I took them to autozone and had them tested, one was bad and other was "probably bad".

I finally broke down and bought two Autozone Gold series 65 DLG for $105 each. It rated second overall in Consumer reports testing and has a 3 year free replacement and 8 year pro-rated warranty, and 850 CCA. Oem was 750 CCA. Now the engine cranks over very quickly!!

I would liked to have bought the Sear Platinum as that battery was rated tops in CR and is actually made by Odessey for $180 each, but like i said I am on a tight budget right now. The Sears Platinum are actually quite a bargain compared to the Odessey which is sold for ~$280 each. Same specs and same battery, so if you have the cash, I think it would be worth the upgrade.

Thanks to everyone that chimed in. I appreciate your help!

2006 Ram 2500 CTD QC 4x4 3.73 Auto

Last edited by CAR67; 10-18-2010 at 08:23 AM.
CAR67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome