How much oil and Freon do I install? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 3rd Gen. Dodge Cummins 03-07 Common Rail Forums > 3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain
3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain Discussion of 3rd Gen Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2010, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
KopterDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntsville Alabama
Posts: 80
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
How much oil and Freon do I install?

I am replacing my compressor and dryer.

Previous oil was blown out as the compressor failed. I am guessing I need to install 3-4 oz of oil.

How much Freon?
__________________
"Loyalty to the country always. Loyalty to the government when it deserves it."
Mark Twain
KopterDoctor is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2010, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange City Florida
Posts: 63
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My 2006 mega cab holds 1lb 14oz of freon . I do think its 1oz or 1ml of oil for every compent you replace . It's late and brain says go to bed. But it should be on decal underhood on the rad surport.
CatDaddy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2010, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
KopterDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntsville Alabama
Posts: 80
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, right there 1lbs 14 oz. I did notice that our trucks use a different oil. Why??
__________________
"Loyalty to the country always. Loyalty to the government when it deserves it."
Mark Twain
KopterDoctor is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2010, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 88
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I would not add too much oil as the new compressors come with oil already in them.
__________________
2004 Ram 2500 QC SB SLT 5.9L 4X4, Carli upper and lower ball joints, 4.5" Fabtech lift, 35" Nitto Trail Grapplers on 17" MT Classic II rims, Bilstein 5100 series shocks, PSC steering bracket, Line-x'd bed
bigborenut is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2010, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
DieselsDaSht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 172
Thanks: 29
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 11 reviews
The compressor you get will have a tag on it if it needs oil, and the standard we use is one 8oz bottle, putting about 6 in the compressor (either side it doesn't matter) and the remaining 2 in the accumulator.
__________________
04.5 3500 4x4 6spd Sleeper...
DieselsDaSht is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2010, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
dieselingwithnomoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kiel, Wisconsin
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
How much Freon?[/QUOTE]


Don't these trucks use R134A????
__________________
06 2500 QC, EFI, DDP 90's,twins,Spool-Aid,Airdog II, Bag of Parts, Devil's Own, 5"Str8 exhaust, Banks High Ram Intake,leveled, Firestone Ride-Rite system, & Goerend tranny with billet goodies
dieselingwithnomoney is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2010, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange City Florida
Posts: 63
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselingwithnomoney View Post
How much Freon?

Don't these trucks use R134A????[/QUOTE]

Yep they sure do and hold 1lb 14oz of it too.
CatDaddy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2