A/C clutch doesn't engage - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 3rd Gen. Dodge Cummins 03-07 Common Rail Forums > 3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain
3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain Discussion of 3rd Gen Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2010, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
A/C clutch doesn't engage

The other day I was driving down the road 07 2500 5.9 got on it and all of a sudden it from blowing cold air too hot. Now the clutch won't engage on the compressor. You can sit in the truck at a idle and hit the A/C button and here it try to engage but it wont. Anybody have any idea's on what could be worng?
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2010, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wont playwell with others
 
rpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: where its always hot
Posts: 8,059
Thanks: 1,341
Thanked 2,705 Times in 1,857 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
either your compressors bad or your low on freon
__________________
Really don't give a rat's App**
rpage is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Checked the freon the other day for some reason i had a guy recharge it and that dum*ss had it charged plum up in the red after that is when the clutch quit engaging
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
cgmorgan06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Llano, TX
Posts: 1,995
Thanks: 392
Thanked 191 Times in 166 Posts
iTrader Score: 61 reviews
ohm out the clutch coil on the compressor and make sure that it is still good
__________________
Grant
'06 black mega laramie 3500 srw 4x4, fully loaded, 6" superlift, 37" trail graps/22" M81s, AMP steps, true 5" custom duals w/7" tips, Autometers, ATS Stage 6 48re, II 85%, JL 150's, 62/480, HD push rods/springs, Spool Aid/GDP Air Boss/Grid Delete/ATS Arcflow, Airdog II, Amsoil bypass, Wicked coolant bypass, GDP Ladder Bars, Viair dual 480C, Nathan K3LA, Kenwood DNX 9140, JL 10's
560hp/1268tq 4/30/11

Official Build Thread of "Big Black"
cgmorgan06 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Compressor isn't froze up but it is at the dealership right now. I was gonna try and use a piece of wire too see if the would make it engage. Could it be that the magnets that are inside of it are wornen down and to far apart that it is trying to pull too much juice too engage the compressor that it just shuts it down
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I am hoping that it is a easy fix. Hoping its not some kind of wire that is shorted out.
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Cummins Newbie
 
rebel102285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Williston ND
Posts: 196
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
OK So... I'm having the same problem... To recharge the A/C I have to get the compressor engaging correct? if so how should i do it? jump a hot right to it and try that?
__________________
2006 Ram 3500 Mega Cab: Twin Turbos Hx-35 over an Ht3b with 2nd Gen Manifold, Byrds Intake Horn, 5" Turbo Back Exhaust, Boost Fooler, Smarty S06 POD with TNT Revo Tune, Isspro Performax Gauges, ATS Stage IV Transmission, Billet Flex Plate, AirDog II Fuel Preporator 165GPH, lndustrial Injection 90hp Injectors, Hamilton 110# Springs, Hamilton Billet Pushrods, Ported and Polished head
rebel102285 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I couldn't tell ya on that im dumber than rocks when it comes to working with the a/c cause mine was working great and then just quit the clutch wouldn't engage anymore
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I wish somebody knew if it was my compressor that was bad or something else
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Cummins Newbie
 
rebel102285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Williston ND
Posts: 196
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJones View Post
I wish somebody knew if it was my compressor that was bad or something else
Same Here... What I am going to do is jump a hot wire to the A/C Compressor and get it to kick on.... then recharge it... If that doesnt work i will find the "low Pressure Switch" and jump/short it out to see if thats the problem...

From What ive been reading i hope mine is just low on R134
__________________
2006 Ram 3500 Mega Cab: Twin Turbos Hx-35 over an Ht3b with 2nd Gen Manifold, Byrds Intake Horn, 5" Turbo Back Exhaust, Boost Fooler, Smarty S06 POD with TNT Revo Tune, Isspro Performax Gauges, ATS Stage IV Transmission, Billet Flex Plate, AirDog II Fuel Preporator 165GPH, lndustrial Injection 90hp Injectors, Hamilton 110# Springs, Hamilton Billet Pushrods, Ported and Polished head
rebel102285 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Well I know mine isn't low so its either in the wiring or the compressor is shot
__________________
07 2500 4X4 Quad Cab
5" exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Garmon tranny, isspro guages, topgun 3.5 lift, 35's, 63/65 fleece, efi tuning
TheJones is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2010, 11:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Cummins Newbie
 
rebel102285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Williston ND
Posts: 196
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJones View Post
Well I know mine isn't low so its either in the wiring or the compressor is shot

Check the low pressure switch.... im not sure wher it is but to rule if its bad or not just jump a wire across it
__________________
2006 Ram 3500 Mega Cab: Twin Turbos Hx-35 over an Ht3b with 2nd Gen Manifold, Byrds Intake Horn, 5" Turbo Back Exhaust, Boost Fooler, Smarty S06 POD with TNT Revo Tune, Isspro Performax Gauges, ATS Stage IV Transmission, Billet Flex Plate, AirDog II Fuel Preporator 165GPH, lndustrial Injection 90hp Injectors, Hamilton 110# Springs, Hamilton Billet Pushrods, Ported and Polished head
rebel102285 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2