Intake Air Heater Codes! Help!! - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 3rd Gen. Dodge Cummins 03-07 Common Rail Forums > 3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain
3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain Discussion of 3rd Gen Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2009, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Vigilante
 
05pscc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 830
Thanks: 38
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Intake Air Heater Codes! Help!!

Started the truck yesterday and check engine light came on. Checked codes with Smarty and there were two of them. They were P2609- No voltage drop seen from intake air heater and P0542- High voltage on the #1intake air heater relay. After checking the codes I noticed that my grid heater is not cycling.

Has anyone had this problem and are there any ideas to fix it or were to start looking. EDoes the heater have it's own fuse?

Thank in advance for the help guys!
__________________
2003 Chevy Tahoe, stock everything, 37,000 miles and counting, slowly!!

SOLD-2006 Mega Cab!!!!!!!!!!!!
05pscc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2009, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newbie
 
rbmorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 47
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Take the wires off the grid heater,clean them and then put them back on just a little tighter than they were.Clear the code and you should be ok. I had the same problem but I was lazy.I didnt take the wires off and clean them I just made it a bit tighter.It sucks workin on a truck in -30! Hope this work for ya
__________________
06,Ram 3500,afe air stage 2,ats in and out manifolds,Aurora 3000 turbo/w boost fooler,custom 5" ex/w jake brake,smarty s06 pod set @ WFO,valair 600hp clutch,auto meter boost and egt gauges,dashdaq monitor.
rbmorgan is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to rbmorgan For This Useful Post:
05pscc (11-19-2009)
Old 11-18-2009, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Cummins Nut
 
iccmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stanwood, WA
Posts: 401
Thanks: 5
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The 2 intake manifold air heater relays are located in the engine compartment. They are attached to a common bracket. This bracket is attached to the right battery tray.

Check the wires going to the relays and make sure that they are tight and not corroded.
__________________
04, Laramie 4x4 QCLB, Directionals in the Mirrors, Smarty SO6 POD, ISSPRO EGT/Boost/Tranny Temp, Quadzilla RP Gauge, Air horns, Boost Elbow, Airbox Mod, 2nd Gen intake, Diamond Eye 4" turbo back, Lost kitty "23 Years US Navy Chief"

Hypertech III for 2004 Dodge Ram Diesel for sale
iccmiller is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to iccmiller For This Useful Post:
05pscc (11-19-2009)
Old 11-18-2009, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
06 Cummins
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Capitan, New Mexico
Posts: 1,623
Thanks: 16
Thanked 169 Times in 142 Posts
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Check all your wiring and clean the IAT sensor. The sensor is partially responsible for your grid heater info to turn on the grid heater, if the sensor is dirty you will get the codes you have gotten as well.

CD
__________________
2006 Dodge 3500 MC DRW 4x4 6-spd 3.73 LS rollin' on 19.5's. Not stock by any means . .
CD in NM is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to CD in NM For This Useful Post:
05pscc (11-19-2009)
Old 11-18-2009, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
ces139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Big "D"
Posts: 17
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
CD in NM
Where is the "IAT sensor" located at?
__________________
Black '06 2500 G56 4x4 Mega Laramie, debadged, 3" Carli 2.0 running on 35" Toyo OCs, Smarty S06 PoD, Banks Ram-Air Intake w/Super Scoop, Airdog FP100, BD Pulse Manifold, Amsoil BMK25, ISSPRO EV = Pyro, Boost, & Fuel Pres. (almost dechromed)
ces139 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2009, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vigilante
 
05pscc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 830
Thanks: 38
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quick fix!! The two little wires that push down on the posts on the relay were off. Right next to the passanger battery. Don't know how in the heck they both just popped off, but the heater is cycling again and no codes!! Thanks guys!!
__________________
2003 Chevy Tahoe, stock everything, 37,000 miles and counting, slowly!!

SOLD-2006 Mega Cab!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by 05pscc; 11-19-2009 at 05:56 AM.
05pscc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2009, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vigilante
 
05pscc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 830
Thanks: 38
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Codes came back a couple days ago! Decided to do deeper troubleshooting. Took my air box off and found the brown and yellow wire, coming from the relay, almost in half. Little splicing and electrical tape along with routing the wires a little different and we are good to go. No more codes and grid heater is cycling normal again!! I am so prouod of myself!!
__________________
2003 Chevy Tahoe, stock everything, 37,000 miles and counting, slowly!!

SOLD-2006 Mega Cab!!!!!!!!!!!!
05pscc is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2009, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
ruidosododge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Franklin, Indiana
Posts: 8,735
Thanks: 2,297
Thanked 849 Times in 697 Posts
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
haha good deal man!
__________________
'12 VW Passat Previous Rams: '10,'06,'04,'01
ruidosododge is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2009, 05:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
Buck08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 994
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
There ya go! Cheap fix too!!!
__________________
10 Laramie C/C Shotbox
02 Excursion Limited TS 6 pos
95 2500 2wd project
Buck08 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2009, 03:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: south texas
Posts: 64
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
glad you got it fixed..

what would i need to do if it actually said the opposite, grid heater intake 1 low? i know its a code on here, and one im havin on my 3500.. truck starts up just fine, and i can hear grids cyclin.. kinda makes me ignore it a bit for that reason..

on another note tho...

is that where the barometric sensor goes?

thanks for any help fellas..

Rick
__________________
05 3500 QCLB 4x4
95 5 spd RCLB 4x4
thanks VALAIR INC CLUTCH!!
TxDiesel007 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2009, 11:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: south texas
Posts: 64
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
??

mornin guys, mornin bump...

thanks for help
__________________
05 3500 QCLB 4x4
95 5 spd RCLB 4x4
thanks VALAIR INC CLUTCH!!
TxDiesel007 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2