Cummins Diesel Forum banner

I'm new to this and need help.

1K views 20 replies 6 participants last post by  Ehall42 
#1 ·
Hello everyone. I am looking into buying a dodge cummins. I have always drove a f150. But I wanted something a little bigger and diesel. So my question is I have been looking between a 2006 and the first half 2007. Now with the 5.9L do they need the egr and other deletes? I'm not quite sure what all the deletes do.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

#3 ·
The years you're looking at don't need the deletes. I believe they have in-cylinder egr. The '07.5, came with the 6.7 and I'm pretty sure they have the DPF and external EGR. 06 or early 07 would be you're best bet because of EFI Live tuning. Just my opinion of course.

#5 ·
It's the Holy Grail of tuners for the 06 and early 07 5.9's. It allows you to get the most out of your truck through tuning. There are other tuning options like Smarty, Edge, DiabloSport to name a few and many people like them but for me, EFI has been fantastic. Unless, you want to keep it stock but that's no fun.

#10 ·
My father has the same truck you have, 06 f150 xcab short bed 4x4 5.4 triton.