Cummins Diesel Forum banner

How do I know when my truck REGEN's?

35K views 28 replies 17 participants last post by  kryan 
#1 ·
Newbie here with a newbie questions.

I purchased my first diesel truck two months ago, 2008 RAM 3500, 6.7 Cummins. In many of the posts I've read owners know exactly when the truck goes in to REGEN and how long it lasts. I read through my owners manual and it mentions a message will display if the PDF is at 80% or higher capacity. The manual didn't mention anything, that I could find, about a REGEN message while it REGENs.

How do I know when my truck REGEN's?

#3 ·
The best way is to have a Pyrometer gauge installed.
The EGT raises to 1200 Plus degrees during Regeneration from the stock 960 degrees.

Reactions: -lenny-
#4 ·
I agree, a pyrometer is the most accurate way to tell when in regen. Watching the lie-o-meter is a good indication, but nowhere near 100% indication. The Edge Insight monitor also tells you when in regen.

#7 ·
in regen my coolant temps spike to ide say 210's, its well beyond the 200 mark etic,

truck can be hot as hell underside.

#9 ·
I've never seen the coolant temps rise during a regen. Back when I had them. :w:

The best way to know you are in regen is to monitor the EGT's.
I have doubts about the insight regen monitor with the the latest J35 flash. I've seen posts of regens almost constantly reported by the Edge. Seems like the flash messed with whatever the Edge is monitoring. I would love to hear from an Edge person that has a pyro probe & J35 flash to confirm the Edge rgen monitor is signalling when it IS in regen. :confused013:

#11 ·