2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Tire Size, ABS, Speedometer, Traction Control Issue?? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 4th Generation 2010 and up 6.7 Liter Cummins > 2010-2012 General Discussion
2010-2012 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Tire Size, ABS, Speedometer, Traction Control Issue??

I bought a 2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel back in January. I had the dealer swap out the stock tires with BFG AT KO 315/70/R17s D range (max 50 PSI) that I had on a 2007 Dodge 2500.

When the dealer did this the computer went crazy. The TPMS light was on as was expected, but a whole bunch of other problems popped up. The speedometer showed exactly double speed (measured with GPS), at 15-20 mph the abs light turned on, the traction control turned off and the cruise control wouldn't work.

Took it back to dealer, they said you can only run max 285/70/R17 tires with E load range of 80 PSI and that was supposed to fix all of the above mentioned problems. I bought the BFG 285/70/r17 tires and away I went. Well the speedometer is off 5-7 mph depending on speed, but that's not really a big concern as all of the other issues were resolved.

What concerns me is that I know people are running 315s on their Trucks without this issue. I thought well maybe it has to do with Tire pressure and I dropped all tires to 45 and did a test. As expected only the tpms light came on and everything was fine otherwise.

I still have the 315s, but would be looking at $60 to put them back on and see if the issue still exists and another $60 to take them off if they did.

Can someone provide some type of explanation as to why this happened or why a 315 vs a 285 would case the speedometer to be off by double?

Are any of you guys running 315s on a 2012 2500?

I need help please. I thought I had this issue resolved in my head, but I have the sweet 315s staring at me and from a logical standpoint the issue just doesn't make any sense.
dr450r is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2012, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My 315 work fine. I have the frt tires AR 50-51 psi and the rear at 36psi. I have the low load switch on. On the cold mornings I may get a low psi warning but after about 10 miles I set the load switch to high for a few seconds than put it back on low and no problems. I did have the dealer change the tires to the 285 in the computer again no problems. My only complaint is I get strange shifts in stop and go driving and the tires rub the control arm at a full turn. ,
247carguy is offline   Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to 247carguy For This Useful Post:
dr450r (04-18-2012)
Old 04-18-2012, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That's they way it should work. I'm really tempted to spend the money and swap the tires but needed some knowledge that other people are doing the same thing.
dr450r is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2012, 03:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
ZOP
Decoder Ring Specialist
 
ZOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Clinton, MT, US
Posts: 2,420
Thanks: 543
Thanked 339 Times in 300 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The TPMS set points can be changed readily. Dealership should be able to, many after market tools can too. Same with the speed calibrations. Those I wonder if tire shops can do now...I have an autoenginuity which can do all that, the various tuners/programmers pretty much all offer tire size adjustments too.
__________________
2011.5 6.7L HO 3500 4x4 ST Crew LB 3.73 SRW Rear 68RFE H&S MM w/ Custom Tuning, B&W+Companion
60 Gal RDS Tank/Tool PacBrake Bags
To go on: ViaAir 200PSI 2.5gal tank+5.5gal tank (at 150 via a regulator), air horns...

1984 Ford/IH 6.9L F250 4x4 Long 3.54 Dana Rear 4spd Handshaker
2012 Fuzion FZ305 35' Toy Hauler (no, the Ford does not pull this...)
ZOP is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
Dude_57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hockley ( Texas )
Posts: 2,059
Thanks: 99
Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
man i went back to the dealer after i put 35's on my truck they re did the computer for the tire size and my abs went crazy it kept activating when i would hit the breaks so i took it back and now i just deal with the 5mph off speedo lol
__________________
Still to be named... 2013 RAM 2500 laramie 3.42 ON 35'S 4X4 AUTO



Elanor - 95 3500 , 2wd, auto goerend fully built tranny with billet input shaft billet flex plate and triple disc tc, Airdogg 2 165 , semi wheels, BHAF.

Yeti - 2012 white 2500 g-56 4x4 (SOLD)
Dude_57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newbie
 
kenrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have 315's on my 2010 2500 and only have a 5 mph issue none of the other issues you were experiencing dr450r. I also have the same TPMS issue where I need to switch to high in the mornings and then back to low a few seconds later and them I am good for the rest of the day.

Last edited by kenrach; 04-19-2013 at 01:55 PM. Reason: mispelled word
kenrach is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monterey,CA
Posts: 89
Thanks: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have 295/70/17's on a 2012 3500 (no TPMS, but have traction control). I have no issues. I used a hypertech programmer to change the tire size. It's the one that doesn't increase performance, just tire size.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 Mega SRW, Carli Starter, Carli Upper & Lower Control Arms, Carli mini-packs.
295/70/17 Nittos
psdtime is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 04:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Rumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: America
Posts: 151
Thanks: 130
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hmm

Find another dealer....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude_57 View Post
man i went back to the dealer after i put 35's on my truck they re did the computer for the tire size and my abs went crazy it kept activating when i would hit the breaks so i took it back and now i just deal with the 5mph off speedo lol
Rumble is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cummins Nut
 
bufordTjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern Nevada
Posts: 407
Thanks: 84
Thanked 45 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I went right to 37's without any issues before my mini maxx was installed.
__________________
06 quad cab 4x4 traded for '12 outdoorsman mega. 6 inch Carli radius, backcountry. 4.56 gears, toyo 37's, mini maxx.
bufordTjustice is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 10:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
Wandell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,230
Thanks: 146
Thanked 340 Times in 311 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Me too. My dealer installed my lift and 37's when I purchased my truck and I drove around a couple weeks with no issues before deleting and reprogramming my truck.
__________________
White 2012 Ram 2500 ST Crewcab, AT, 3.73s, Rough Country 5 inch lift, 20x9 KMC XD Spy's, 37 inch Nitto Terra Grapplers, H&S XRT Pro programmer, MBRP exhaust
Wandell is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2013, 11:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Dae
Diesel Head
 
Dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ceciltucky, MD
Posts: 1,959
Thanks: 382
Thanked 422 Times in 304 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I think someone at the dealer had knocked one of your abs sensors lose (bad connection) when they originally put the 315s on... causing all the double speed and what not...
Dae is online now   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2