2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Tire Size, ABS, Speedometer, Traction Control Issue?? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
2010-2012 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Tire Size, ABS, Speedometer, Traction Control Issue??

I bought a 2012 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel back in January. I had the dealer swap out the stock tires with BFG AT KO 315/70/R17s D range (max 50 PSI) that I had on a 2007 Dodge 2500.

When the dealer did this the computer went crazy. The TPMS light was on as was expected, but a whole bunch of other problems popped up. The speedometer showed exactly double speed (measured with GPS), at 15-20 mph the abs light turned on, the traction control turned off and the cruise control wouldn't work.

Took it back to dealer, they said you can only run max 285/70/R17 tires with E load range of 80 PSI and that was supposed to fix all of the above mentioned problems. I bought the BFG 285/70/r17 tires and away I went. Well the speedometer is off 5-7 mph depending on speed, but that's not really a big concern as all of the other issues were resolved.

What concerns me is that I know people are running 315s on their Trucks without this issue. I thought well maybe it has to do with Tire pressure and I dropped all tires to 45 and did a test. As expected only the tpms light came on and everything was fine otherwise.

I still have the 315s, but would be looking at $60 to put them back on and see if the issue still exists and another $60 to take them off if they did.

Can someone provide some type of explanation as to why this happened or why a 315 vs a 285 would case the speedometer to be off by double?

Are any of you guys running 315s on a 2012 2500?

I need help please. I thought I had this issue resolved in my head, but I have the sweet 315s staring at me and from a logical standpoint the issue just doesn't make any sense.

dr450r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My 315 work fine. I have the frt tires AR 50-51 psi and the rear at 36psi. I have the low load switch on. On the cold mornings I may get a low psi warning but after about 10 miles I set the load switch to high for a few seconds than put it back on low and no problems. I did have the dealer change the tires to the 285 in the computer again no problems. My only complaint is I get strange shifts in stop and go driving and the tires rub the control arm at a full turn. ,
247carguy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 247carguy For This Useful Post:
dr450r (04-18-2012)
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That's they way it should work. I'm really tempted to spend the money and swap the tires but needed some knowledge that other people are doing the same thing.
dr450r is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2012, 03:51 AM
ZOP
Decoder Ring Specialist
 
ZOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Clinton, MT, US
Posts: 2,541
Thanks: 561
Thanked 365 Times in 321 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The TPMS set points can be changed readily. Dealership should be able to, many after market tools can too. Same with the speed calibrations. Those I wonder if tire shops can do now...I have an autoenginuity which can do all that, the various tuners/programmers pretty much all offer tire size adjustments too.

2011.5 6.7L HO 3500 4x4 ST Crew LB 3.73 SRW Rear 68RFE H&S MM w/ Custom Tuning, B&W+Companion
60 Gal RDS Tank/Tool PacBrake Bags

2012 Fuzion FZ305 35' Toy Hauler (no, the Ford does not pull this...)
ZOP is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2012, 04:02 PM
Diesel Head
 
Dude_57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nacogdoches TX
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 102
Thanked 179 Times in 150 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
man i went back to the dealer after i put 35's on my truck they re did the computer for the tire size and my abs went crazy it kept activating when i would hit the breaks so i took it back and now i just deal with the 5mph off speedo lol

2002 Ram 2500 Laramie 3.55 4x4 Short Bed

Dude_57 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
kenrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have 315's on my 2010 2500 and only have a 5 mph issue none of the other issues you were experiencing dr450r. I also have the same TPMS issue where I need to switch to high in the mornings and then back to low a few seconds later and them I am good for the rest of the day.

Last edited by kenrach; 04-19-2013 at 01:55 PM. Reason: mispelled word
kenrach is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 02:19 PM
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monterey,CA
Posts: 99
Thanks: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have 295/70/17's on a 2012 3500 (no TPMS, but have traction control). I have no issues. I used a hypertech programmer to change the tire size. It's the one that doesn't increase performance, just tire size.

2016 2500 Crew Cab 4X4, CTD Auto
***SOLD***2012 Ram 3500 Mega SRW, Carli Starter, Carli Control Arms, Carli mini-packs. 295/70/17 Nittos
psdtime is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 04:09 PM
Cummins Fanatic
 
Rumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: America
Posts: 154
Thanks: 130
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hmm

Find another dealer....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude_57 View Post
man i went back to the dealer after i put 35's on my truck they re did the computer for the tire size and my abs went crazy it kept activating when i would hit the breaks so i took it back and now i just deal with the 5mph off speedo lol
Rumble is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 06:36 PM
Diesel Freak
 
bufordTjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern Nevada
Posts: 627
Thanks: 182
Thanked 88 Times in 69 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I went right to 37's without any issues before my mini maxx was installed.

06 quad cab 3500 4x4 traded for '12 outdoorsman mega 3500 SRW. 6 inch Carli radius, backcountry. 4.56 gears, toyo 37's, 40 ft. WW toy hauler.
bufordTjustice is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 10:02 PM
Diesel Head
 
Wandell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,986
Thanks: 270
Thanked 511 Times in 450 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Me too. My dealer installed my lift and 37's when I purchased my truck and I drove around a couple weeks with no issues before deleting and reprogramming my truck.

White 2012 Ram 2500 ST Crewcab, AT, 3.73s, Rough Country 5 inch lift, 20x9 KMC XD Spy's, 37 inch Nitto Terra Grapplers, H&S XRT Pro programmer, MBRP exhaust
Wandell is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 11:07 PM
Dae
Diesel Head
 
Dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ceciltucky, MD
Posts: 1,975
Thanks: 390
Thanked 440 Times in 317 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I think someone at the dealer had knocked one of your abs sensors lose (bad connection) when they originally put the 315s on... causing all the double speed and what not...
Dae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome