Maf p0101 - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum

2010-2012 General Discussion General Chit Chat About the 6.7L 4th generation Cummins - NO ADVERTISING

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-2010, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
arcojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 166
Thanks: 32
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Maf p0101

After 300 miles of hauling a 3000lb overhead camper and pulling a 4000lb boat,getting 8-9 mpg, I got a MIL. A few days later,unloaded, I drove the 160 miles to my dealer and was getting 19.8 mpg on the evic. I thought, Fantastic, finally---
Dealer reset the code and said MAF sensor malfuncion, didn't say anything about cleaning it and couldn't even show me where it is. Typical
So I drive home and now I'm back to the normal 13-14 mpg.
What the heck is up with that


2010 Grey Laramie 2500 CCLB,4X4,H&S,Flo-Pro
arcojet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-2010, 12:46 PM
Tech support junkie
 
powerstroke8994's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scenery hill/washington pa
Posts: 4,969
Thanks: 222
Thanked 664 Times in 442 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Thats odd. Maybe you had a leak somewhere in the intake system. The maf isyour mass airflow sensor located in the intake

2014_F-250_Platinum
SOLD-2010_48re
SOLD_2013 MEGA_g56_laramie_Loaded
CUMMINS & N SERIES
Powering Americas Future
powerstroke8994 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-2010, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
arcojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 166
Thanks: 32
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yes, I know. but why was my fuel mileage so much better with it malfunctioning? Does it work with the EGR? What would happen if they were both unplugged?

2010 Grey Laramie 2500 CCLB,4X4,H&S,Flo-Pro
arcojet is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-2010, 04:28 PM
Diesel Head
 
NC Hauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 5,045
Thanks: 1,663
Thanked 2,383 Times in 1,397 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Don't believe your engine would run well, if at all without the MAF sensor plugged in. Has to do with metering/monitoring air flow into the engine I believe. Sometimes you have problems with them if you add an after market air filter that is an oil bath type, such as a K&N filter, can cause them to get dirty and reek havoc with the way the engine runs...will throw codes at the very least. Don't know why your mpg got better...if you find out, let us know

2016 Ram 3500DRW/CC/LB/4X4/4:10/Aisin/Longhorn/rear air assist, Peal White
2016 Jayco 4112 flood totaled..looking for another one
USAF Viet Nam Vet
NC Hauler is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-2010, 11:54 PM
Tech support junkie
 
powerstroke8994's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scenery hill/washington pa
Posts: 4,969
Thanks: 222
Thanked 664 Times in 442 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Well thats kinda tricky. Im wondering if the air flow was being read incorrectly and causeing the evic to read you the wrong calculated fuel mileage. The maf will make it run very poorly too if not there. If it was a gasengine it wouldnt run at all most likely. I cant give a direct answer since the ISB doesnt have a MAF and that what i get into. The maf sensor on a vt275 international wont make a huge difference on perfromance since its tied with egr so maybe it is on the cummins too

2014_F-250_Platinum
SOLD-2010_48re
SOLD_2013 MEGA_g56_laramie_Loaded
CUMMINS & N SERIES
Powering Americas Future
powerstroke8994 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-26-2010, 12:00 AM
Tech support junkie
 
powerstroke8994's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scenery hill/washington pa
Posts: 4,969
Thanks: 222
Thanked 664 Times in 442 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Just looked on quickserve and found no cummins code to that so thats a dodge code

2014_F-250_Platinum
SOLD-2010_48re
SOLD_2013 MEGA_g56_laramie_Loaded
CUMMINS & N SERIES
Powering Americas Future
powerstroke8994 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-26-2010, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
arcojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 166
Thanks: 32
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I figured that it was just sending wrong info to the EVIC. I didn't hand calculate the mpg's, I just reported what the EVIC was telling me.

2010 Grey Laramie 2500 CCLB,4X4,H&S,Flo-Pro
arcojet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome