locked ecm - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
- HOME - FORUMS - GARAGE - TECH - ARTICLES - CHAT - CLASSIFIEDS - REVIEWS - VIDEOS - MEMBER MAP - STORE - INSURANCE -
- REGISTER - CALENDAR - INFO - SITE HELP - RULES - STAFF - MEMBERSHIP - ADVERTISE - CONTACT US -


Welcome to the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum, the fastest growing Dodge Diesel Community on the internet.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us
Go Back   Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum > 07.5 - 09 6.7 Liter Cummins > 07.5 - 09 3rd Gen 6.7L Performance Parts Discussion
07.5 - 09 3rd Gen 6.7L Performance Parts Discussion Discussion of Performance Parts For the 6.7L Trucks...NO ADVERTISING

CumminsForum.com is the premier Dodge Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2009, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cummins Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fortuna California
Posts: 195
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
locked ecm

so if you buy a new truck and it has the locked ecm on it cant you find a used non locked ecm, and go to the dealer and have them put it in cause they have to use the star scan machine to vin lock it right? so would that be possible if you had a very mod friendly dealer? and then you would be able to use an xrt or smarty or is it just a dumb idea that wouldnt work? i was just thinking about it
__________________
96 ecld 4x4 auto soon to be nv4500 swapped
sh13lds21 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2009, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
MOD-A-HAULIC
 
Pipeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orangeville, Ontario
Posts: 1,227
Thanks: 259
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
I Think The Makers Of Some Of The Programers Can Do Something To Help You ... With Your Off Road Truck ...
__________________
BUILT 2007 QCSB 47RE FOR SALE http://www.kijiji.ca/v-cars-trucks/m...teLocale=en_CA

2014 3500 SRW mega longhorn Aisin RAM-BOX, fully jammed, Scotts Diesel Fuel CAP!

Thanks Delta Diesel Performance!
Pipeguy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ryan Milliken

 
Krazeeun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 6,214
Thanks: 1,217
Thanked 2,047 Times in 1,120 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i dont think they're there just yet pipeguy
__________________
HARDWAY PERFORMANCE - MCC/EFIBYRYAN
2014 NHRDA Super Street & Pro Stock Points Leader #6010
SS 2007.5 6.7C/47RE 4x4 SCLB "BuckWheat" 9.71@142mph **FUEL ONLY**
PSTK Silverado 6.6D/Lenco-Bruno "DirtyMaxx" 8.82@153mph **FUEL ONLY**
TOW - 13 6.7C/68RFE 4x4 CCSB... "stock"
WIFE - 14 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 ECODIESEL
DD - 14 Ram 1500 SCSB 2WD HEMI (for now...)
facebook / email / web
"KNOWLEDGE IS POWER!"
Krazeeun is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
CO6.7Cummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,987
Thanks: 48
Thanked 128 Times in 113 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Or just get the Edge Race if your ECM has the bootloader software.
__________________
08 6.7L QCSB 4x4, 68RFE, deletes, Smarty, AD150
CO6.7Cummins is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Water_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Mcmurray, Alberta
Posts: 299
Thanks: 13
Thanked 31 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO6.7Cummins View Post
Or just get the Edge Race if your ECM has the bootloader software.
I was wondering about that. So the edge tuner still works on the "new" locked ecm?
Water_Boy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 01:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
You're wrong! Get over it
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 8,429
Thanks: 2,330
Thanked 2,580 Times in 1,400 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Water_Boy View Post
I was wondering about that. So the edge tuner still works on the "new" locked ecm?
The Edge is not a tuner. It is an external fooling device. That's how it gets around the ECM issue.
__________________
Tom
2008 QC-LB,2500,4X4,White/Kaki,Big-Horn,3.73 Auto, MyGig Nav unit, K&N no baffle,DPF quit working, GHD, Shibby stage 1 intake & boost tube, Smarty, PMT for gauges, Mag-Hytec Pan & Diff covers.Dad2bike-installs-some-shibby-goodies..... DIY Deletes How-To
SNAFU
dad2bike is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
Schmidty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 560
Thanks: 97
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Edge

I wonder if the edge people knew that dodge was going to make reprogramming the ECM so difficult that they developed a fooler instead?

Schmidt
__________________
2014 Red/Silver 2500 MegaCab
Amsoil Bypass, Rough Country LED light bar installed
THANKS for all the info
Schmidty is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 05:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
ken white's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Painesville, OH
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 135
Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmidty View Post
I wonder if the edge people knew that dodge was going to make reprogramming the ECM so difficult that they developed a fooler instead?

Schmidt
That is the way Edge had choosen to design their products before locked ECM's were ever an issue...
__________________
2008 Quad Cab 3500, 4x4, Long Bed, DRW, G56, 3.73's, American Force 19.5's, Rancho RS9000XL Shocks, Line-X, P3 Brake Controller, Timbren upgrades etc...
ken white is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Rescue Tower
 
Shainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,824
Thanks: 683
Thanked 1,900 Times in 1,389 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmidty View Post
I wonder if the edge people knew that dodge was going to make reprogramming the ECM so difficult that they developed a fooler instead?

Schmidt
While that is possible, it's more likely they just chose a different route to make power. There are R&D advantages to programmers and foolers.
__________________
Custom pinstriped Power Wheel. I started out with very little... I still have most of it. Feel free to PM me anytime.
Shainer is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
You're wrong! Get over it
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 8,429
Thanks: 2,330
Thanked 2,580 Times in 1,400 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The natural evolution would be foolers then on to the changing program. Like using the EGT & pressure sims we do. Cheap external mods. Software development is EXPENSIVE.
__________________
Tom
2008 QC-LB,2500,4X4,White/Kaki,Big-Horn,3.73 Auto, MyGig Nav unit, K&N no baffle,DPF quit working, GHD, Shibby stage 1 intake & boost tube, Smarty, PMT for gauges, Mag-Hytec Pan & Diff covers.Dad2bike-installs-some-shibby-goodies..... DIY Deletes How-To
SNAFU
dad2bike is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 05:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Diesel Head
 
Cummins6speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 5,209
Thanks: 125
Thanked 204 Times in 151 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
I do not think you would be able to put an older ECM in the truck even if the dealer wanted to
__________________
My truck: 06 5.9 6-speed2/28/09-470hp/980tq Sold and missed
06 QCSB Auto/Stock - new rig
86 Toyota 4runner- current project

"Calling an illegal alien an 'undocumented immigrant' is like calling a drug dealer an 'unlicensed pharmasist'"
Cummins6speed is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2009, 07:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Diesel Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 740
Thanks: 50
Thanked 45 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pipeguy View Post
I Think The Makers Of Some Of The Programers Can Do Something To Help You ... With Your Off Road Truck ...
I think pipeguy means some programming companies have the ability to vin and abs write any ecm to any truck. So I would think any 6.7 ecm would work, just need a vin/abs writer. I had an ecm implosion and was able to get another ecm vin/abs written for my truck.....pretty simple really.
__________________
10 6.7 g56 crew cab loooooong bed
Source automotive PPE south bend flux H/S
"C" ya pulling team
GButia is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2